Flamboro Speedway

Fitzpatrick, Zardo, Houghton, and Cadman Victorious on Frostoberfest Day 2

MILLGROVE, Ontario — Despite Mother Nature dealing every hand she had in the deck to try and stop the event from happening, everyone banded together and fought through a pair of rain delays to get the second day of London Recreational Racing’s Frostoberfest in the books on Sunday, October 17.

Ultimately, when the action did hit the track, it resulted in some of the best racing witnessed all season long at Flamboro Speedway.

Grisdale Triple Crown Late Model

In a battle of the heavyweights that lasted through the second half of the event, it was a three-way battle for the top spot as some of the best drivers in the province waged war for the victory. Ultimately, after running up front all race, J.R. Fitzpatrick would take the top spot on Lap 77 and was able to hold off Andrew Gresel on a late restart with three laps to go to score the victory in the third race of the Grisdale Triple Crown.

Andrew Gresel capped off his season on a high with a runner-up, while 2021 Flamboro Speedway Pro Late Model Champion Kyle Steckly placed third after posting the quickest lap in qualifying. Rick Spencer-Walt rebounded from restarting tail at Lap 8 due to window net issue to finish fourth, while Connor James rounded out the top-five after having to change the motor following practice.

Billy Schwartzenburg finished sixth in his second appearance of the season, while Jade Franklin came back from a mid-race spin for seventh. As chaos was the name of the game through the feature, Shae Gemmell caught a piece of it, but managed to stay out of trouble for the most part for an eighth-place finish. More importantly, the top-10 allowed him to clinch the 2021 Grisdale Triple Crown Championship, his second straight title. Tyler Di Venanzo and Shawn Chenoweth rounded out the top-10.

Jamie Klumper finished 11th, while Coltin Everingham, Erik Della Riva, Jake Gilbert, David Gallinger and Kyle Woods were all taken out in an incident in the final five laps. Shane Maginnis led the early stages of the feature, but contact while in lap traffic relegated him to a 17th on the final rundown. Tyler Mackenzie was scored 18th, followed by Ty Cavallin, Brett Rodwell, Kevin Albers, Rick Burbridge, Josh Stade, and Dario Capirchio.

Super Stocks

After setting the quick time in qualifying, everyone knew that Lane Zardo would be someone to watch in the feature – no surprise, considering he won the 2021 Qwick Wick Super Stock Series Championship. Though while he has dominated some events this year, that wasn’t the case on Sunday night.

Instead, he found himself in a three-way battle with Ethan Constable and Shawn Chenoweth through the majority of the event as the trio traded the top-three spots through the long run portions of the event. Though when Constable and Chenoweth made contact in the final stages, Zardo single-handily led the rest of the way en route to taking home the coveted igloo trophy.

Roy Wilkie avoided trouble all night to place second, followed by Carson Nagy, Cory McAllister, and Justin Collison. Remarkably, McAllister’s top-five came after being sent airborne mid-race following contact with Trevor Collver. Kevin Gallant rebounded from a couple spins to finish sixth, followed by Shawn Chenoweth, Tyler Bouillon, Brad Collison, and Steve Perry.

Ethan Constable finished 11th, followed by Steve Cashmore, Nic Ramsay, Nic Troback, Randy Rusnell, Trevor Collver, Gerrit Tiemersma, and Paul Boundy.

Feature Video à https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7Lvl0u8MgQ

Pure Stocks

After inheriting the pole on the invert of two, James Houghton did not look back en route to pacing the full feature on Sunday night en route to picking the igloo for the Pure Stock division. It was close at the checkered, though, as Jo Lawrence got right to his bumper, though was unable to find a way around before the black and white flag waved.

Jordan Morris ran up front all feature long en route to third, followed by Rodney Rutherford and Gary Slama. Craig Cole finished sixth, followed by Karl Sault, Kris Lawrence, Nic Ramsay, and Jaden Chapman. Connor Ellis finished 11th, followed by Dan Storey, Jordan Willms, Spencer Riddell, and Jay Cox. Reece Bourgeois placed 16th following a mid-race tire change ahead of Nathan Rhea, Matt Young, and Adam Jeneroux.

Pete Vanderwyst was the first car to not finish in 20th, followed by Gillian Hils. Hils ran up front through the first half, though a spin took her out of contention. Reuben Fluit did not take the checkered flag following contact with the backstretch wall, while Bill Brekelmans rolled over in turn one after cutting the corner a little too tight. Michael Peterson was 24th, followed by Wayde Thorne, Andrew Castelein, Dylan Sharpe, and Jack Dixon. Rick VanKleef was disqualified post-race.

Alex Stewart was the first car to not make it through the b-main into the main event, followed by Teegan Ellis, Mark Rioux, Blair Mayhew, Rob Hoskins, Brandon Feeney, Roland Goodfellow, Cameron Thomson, Nicole Stewart, Eric Stewart, Lenard Sterritt, Chris French, Connor Parkes, and Hailey McNicol.

B-Main à https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNYRH743Qhw

Main Event à https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OatXNcQmV5I

Ontario Outlaw Super Late Models

Running in the top-five all race long, John Cadman came out on top in a late-race battle with 10 laps to go to score the victory in the Ontario Outlaw Super Late Model feature. Dario Capirchio finished second, followed by Dustin Jackson, John Owen, and Mike Wilkinson.

Chris Burrows finished sixth, followed by Mike Miller and Trevor Monaghan. Glenn Watson ran up front through the first 40 laps, pacing the field for 30 laps, though a spin with 10 laps to go following contact relegated him to ninth. Tyler Mackenzie rounded out the top-10.

Logan White, Marlie Owen, Brandon Passer, and Todd Campbell failed to finish, while John Fletcher did not take the green flag.

Thanks to Derek Smith (http://www.racepulse.com), Peter Anderson (pandersonphotos@gmail.com), and Shaun Lumley (Zoompics.com) for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/petalpower51/videos.

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is the Halloween 250-lap Enduro and Demolition Derby on Saturday, October 23. See who can outwit, outlast, and outdrive the field, to take home the $10,000 first prize (based on a field of 125 cars).

The gates open at 10am, with racing starting at 4pm. Spectators are asked to buy their tickets at the pit ticket booth. They will be $25.00 for adults, $5.00 for kids age six to 12, and kids under six are free. Please note those prices include HST.

Also, closing out the 2021 season is a Monster Truck Show on October 30, hosted by Wadded Up Monster Truck Tour. You can check out ticket sales at https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/wadded-up-monster-truck-tour-at-flamboro-speedway-tickets-170375497700?aff=ebdsoporgprofile.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at http://www.flamborospeedway.ca. You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at https://twitter.com/FlamboroSpdwy and Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/flamborospeedway. Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/Flamboro-Speedway-Authorized-Page-102328664646735/.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.