Flamboro Speedway

Will Gibbons Edges Out Fitzpatrick for Mini Stock 40 at Flamboro

Weaving through lap traffic, Will Gibbons would edge out J.R. Fitzpatrick to score the victory in the 40-lap Mini Stock feature on Saturday at Flamboro Speedway.

Nolan Gould won the first heat ahead of Will Gibbons, Kyle Steckly, Karl Sault, Kyle Istead, Wayde Thorne, Jeff Laflamme, Allan Lankin, and Mike Thomson.

J.R. Fitzpatrick was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Jason D’Antimo, Ryan D’Antimo, Jeremy Taggart, Kaitlyn Wallace, Carol Dawson, Matt Young, and Brock Baker.

Shawn Taylor won the final heat ahead of Chris Pendlebury, Dale Millard, Tyler Lewis, Connor Maltese, Ryan Edwards-kiss, Andrew Packer, Jeff McKibbon, and Rob Welles.

Following qualifying, Chris Pendlebury started pole ahead of Nolan Gould, Jason D’Antimo, Shawn Taylor, Jeremy Taggert, Karl Sault, Tyler Lewis, Will Gibbons, J.R. Fitzpatrick, Ryan D’Antimo, Dale Millard, Kyle Steckly, Kyle Istead, and Kaitlyn Wallace.

The feature started off in dramatic fashion, with Taggert going for a slide through the infield following contact. Gould would grab the advantage on track ahead of Taylor, Pendlebury, and Fitzpatrick, as Gibbons and Sault battled for fifth. Gibbons got the spot on Lap 4 ahead of Sault and Lewis, as Young headed pit side with an issue.

Fitzpatrick began his charge forward, getting alongside Pendlebury for third, and passing on Lap 18, bringing Gibbons through with him. Behind them, Sault ran sixth ahead of Steckly, Lewis, Millard, Jason D’Antimo, Ryan D’Antimo, Wallace, and Wayde Thorne.

With the green flag out, the leaders began to weave their way through lap traffic, with contact taking place between Sault and Allan Lankin for a slide through the grass on Lap 14. Two laps later, the first caution came out for Ryan D’Antimo spinning around in turn three, collecting Taggert and Taylor in the process.

Gibbons got the jump on the restart to take over the top spot ahead of Gould, with Pendlebury and Fitzpatrick side-by-side for third. Gould’s strong run came to an end shortly thereafter, as he slowed with a mechanical issue on Lap 18, heading off the track. This allowed Fitzpatrick to move up into second ahead of Steckly, Pendlebury, Istead, Sault, Taylor, Lewis, Millard, and Thorne. The issues continue plaguing drivers, with Jeff Laflamme heading pit side on Lap 22.

Sault continued his climb back through the field, getting by Istead for fifth on Lap 23, followed by passing Pendlebury for fourth two laps later. At the same time, Jason D’Antimo headed to the pits on Lap 24, done for the event. the issues continued with Lankin pulling off three laps later, as Taylor got by Istead for sixth.

Will Gibbons led the rest of the way en route to scoring the checkered flag ahead of J.R. Fitzpatrick, Kyle Steckly, Karl Sault, and Shawn Taylor. Kyle Istead finished sixth, followed by Chris Pendlebury, Tyler Lewis, Dale Millard, and Wayde Thorne. Kaitlyn Wallace placed 11th ahead of Connor Maltese, Brock Baker, Ryan Edwards-kiss, Mike Thomson, Rob Welles, Andrew Packer, Jeff McKibbon, Allan Lankin, and Jeff Laflamme.

Jason D’Antimo finished 21st, followed by Carol Dawson, Nolan Gould, Ryan D’Antimo, Jeremy Taggert, and Matt Young.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.