Canadian Vintage Modified

Daryl Henwood Returns to Flamboro Speedway Victory Lane

After running into issues in his last appearance, Daryl Henwood scored the Canadian Vintage Modified feature victory this past Saturday.

The heats started off messy as Chance Isherwood overdrove turn three, spinning around Rick Willigar. John Karley won the first qualifier ahead of Jerrid Morphy, Rodney Rutherford, Jake Gilbert, Quintin Murdock, Willigar, Patrick Ruelens, and Isherwood.

T.J. Marshall won the second heat ahead of Daryl Henwood, Mike Klotz, Joe Arseanault, Bill Pearsall, and Jeff Kells.

Come feature time, things got messy from the drop of the green flag with Joe Arsenault and Jeff Kells going around on the front stretch.

The second attempt to start the event was cleaner with Daryl Henwood grabbing the early advantage ahead of Mike Klotz, Rodney Rutherford, and TJ Marshall, as John Karley and Jerrid Morphy battled for fifth. Marshall would challenge Rutherford for third on Lap 3, getting the spot a lap later as Morphy took over fifth.

The race’s second caution would come out on Lap 5 for Bill Stoner going around on the backstretch. With 25 laps to go, Henwood led Klotz, Marshall, Rutherford, Morphy, Jake Gilbert, Karley, Bill Pearsall, Arsanault, Rick Willigar, Quinton Murdock, and Patrick Ruelens.

Henwood got a good restart to keep the top spot as Marshall and Klotz battled for second. Marshall got the spot on Lap 7 ahead of Klotz, with Rutherford and Morphy side-by-side for fourth. Morphy got the spot a lap later, bringing Gilbert and Karley through with him, to bump Rutherford back to seventh ahead of Arsanault, Willigar, Pearsall, Murdock, and Ruelens. Gilbert would get by Morphy on Lap 18 for fourth, only for Morphy to pass him back a lap later, as Rutherford headed pit side with issues.

Daryl Henwood paced the rest of the way en route to winning ahead of TJ Marshall, Mike Klotz, Jerrid Morphy, and Jake Gilbert. John Karley finished sixth, followed by Rick Willigar, Joe Arsenault, Quinton Murdock, and Bill Pearsall. Rodney Rutherford finished 11th, followed by Patrick Ruelens, Bill Stoner, Chance Isherwood, Heath Penny, and Jeff Kells, while Amanda Stoner failed to take the green flag.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.