Race Reports

Travis Hallyburton Scores Second Victory of 2019 Season at Sunset Speedway

The championship battle at Sunset Speedway continues to remain close, with the top runners taking turns in victory lane. This week, it was Travis Hallyburton scoring his second Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model win of 2019.

Following the first feature, Chris McIssac started pole, followed by Daniel Montanari, Mike Wilkinson, Paul Maltese, Rick Spencer-Walt, Kendra Adams, Ron Quesnelle, Travis Hallyburton, Danny Benedict, Gord Shepherd, Robbie Sikes, Stefan Semeraro, Thayne Hallyburton, Al Inglis, and Dwayne Baker.

The action would start right away at the front of the field, with the field getting stacked up as drivers attempted to go three-wide at the front of the field. There’d be consequences, with the caution coming out on Lap 2 for Quesnelle having a flat right front tire. With 33 laps to go, McIssac led ahead of Montanari, Maltese, Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Baker, Benedict, Semeraro, Adams, Shepherd, Inglis, and Sikes, as Thayne Hallyburton went pit-side.

The restart would be a little chaotic, with Montanari getting sideways by himself, followed by contact between McIssac and Spencer-Walt. Montanari would then come down, slamming Spencer-Walt in the door. The incidents would continue, with the second caution coming out on Lap 6 for Inglis going around in turns one and two. Under caution, Spencer-Walt gave up the third spot to make repairs. As a result, Maltese moved up into third ahead of Travis Hallyburton with the top-three unchanged.

The restart would see Maltese grab the lead, with Hallyburton moving into second. The front runners would remain tamed, however the chaos continued mid-pack. Spencer-Walt would go to make a move three-wide for ninth on Lap 12, but Shepherd chopped down, resulting in Spencer-Walt going around. Quesnelle would also be sent to the back as an involved car.

At the front of the field, the restart worked in Hallyburton’s favor as he took the top spot, and began to make headway cruising away from the field as Benedict moved up into second ahead of Shepherd and Spencer-Walt. The battles went right down to the checkered, with Spencer-Walt getting by Shepherd at the checkered for third.


1 39 Travis Hallyburton
2 54 Danny Benedict
3 31 Rick Spencer-Walt
4 10S Gord Shepherd
5 23 Paul Maltese
6 57 Ron Quesnelle
7 48 Dwayne Baker
8 25 Mike Wilkinson
9 34 Robbie Sikes
10 9 Daniel Montanari
11 2 Kendra Adams
12 33 Chris McIsaac
13 97 Stefan Semeraro
14 69 Al Inglis
15 14 Thayne Hallyburton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.