Race Reports

Gord Shepherd Scores Third Feature Victory of 2019 Campaign

The wins keep on coming for Ridge Road Racing, as Gord Shepherd picked up his third victory of the 2019 season at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night.

Shepherd was quick right off the trailer, timing in quickest during time trials with a lap of 14.694 seconds. Travis Hallyburton qualified second, followed by Danny Benedict, Paul Maltese, and Rick Spencer-Walt. Kendra Adams qualified sixth, followed by Dwayne Baker, Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton, and Dwayne Baker. Thayne Hallyburton qualified 11th, followed by Stefan Semeraro, Robbie Sikes, Daniel Montanari, Chris McIssac, Billy Zardo, and Al Inglis.

The feature did not start off smoothly, with Baker getting sideways off of turn four, spinning in front of the back half of the field. Several other drivers would make contact in the process, with the heaviest being sustained by Fumerton and Zardo. Other drivers collected include Sikes, Montanari, and Thayne Hallyburton.

The restart would see a close battle for the lead, with Travis Hallyburton all over the back bumper of Shepherd for the top spot. However, it’d get cut short with the caution coming out on Lap 8 for Inglis going around. With 27 laps to go, Shepherd led Hallyburton, Benedict, Maltese, Adams, and Spencer-Walt.

Shepherd got a good restart, solidly holding the advantage over the field, with Travis Hallyburton still solidly in second. Meanwhile, Spencer-Walt got by Adams on Lap 11, followed by a pass on Maltese for fourth with 15 laps to go.

As the laps counted down, Shepherd held the advantage – but barely with Benedict and Hallyburton all over his back bumper as Spencer-Walt closed the gap to the top-three. The battle went all the way down to the tail of the event, with the caution coming out on the last lap for Stefan Semeraro spinning in turn four.

The race would not be restarted, with Gord Shepherd credited with the win ahead of Danny Benedict, Rick Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, and Kendra Adams.

1 10S Gord Shepherd
2 54 Danny Benedict
3 31 Rick Spencer-Walt
4 39 Travis Hallyburton
5 2 Kendra Adams
6 23 Paul Maltese
7 57 Ron Quesnelle
8 25 Mike Wilkinson
9 9 Daniel Montanari
10 33 Chris McIsaac
11 48 Dwayne Baker
12 34 Robbie Sikes
13 97 Stefan Semeraro
14 14 Thayne Hallyburton
15 69 Al Inglis
16 3 Ernie Fumerton
17 46 Billy Zardo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.