Race Reports

Rick Spencer-Walt Leads Flag-to-Flag in Late Model Feature

Taking the lead off the drop of the initial green flag, Rick Spencer-Walt led the rest of the way en route to winning the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature on Sunday afternoon at Sunset Speedway.

Gord Shepherd posted a lap of 14.753 seconds for the quickest lap in time trials ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt (14.799), Travis Hallyburton (14.802), Danny Benedict (14.833), and Paul Maltese (14.971). Billy Zardo qualified sixth, followed by Robbie Sikes, Daniel Montanari, Thayne Hallyburton, and Ron Quesnelle.

Ernie Fumerton qualified 11th, followed by Al Inglis, Dwayne Baker, Chris McIssac, Mike Wilkinson, Stefan Semeraro, and Brandon Feeney.

Rick Spencer-Walt would jump out to the early lead, with Benedict and Shepherd side-by-side for second. Benedict got the spot on Lap 2, but the caution came out for Maltese and Sikes getting tangled up together in an incident that started with Travis Hallyburton getting up into the backstretch wall.

Spencer-Walt got a good restart, with Hallyburton moving into second ahead of Benedict. Shepherd would get alongside Benedict on Lap 4, with Hallyburton challenging Spencer-Walt a lap later. Spencer-Walt held off the challenge to keep the lead, with Benedict holding off Shepherd for third. Behind them, Zardo ran fifth ahead of Quesnelle, Thayne Hallyburton, Montanari, and Fumerton.

The battle for third would continue, with Benedict and Shepherd side-by-side on Lap 9, as Quesnelle got alongside Zardo for fifth. Shepherd got the spot two laps later, with Quesnelle moving into fifth on Lap 13. Zardo now ran sixth ahead of Thayne Hallyburton, Montanari, Fumerton, Maltese, Baker, Inglis, and Wilkinson. Maltese would then challenge Fumerton for ninth on Lap 16.

With 23 laps on the board, Spencer-Walt led Travis Hallyburton, Shepherd, Benedict, Quesnelle, Zardo, Montanari and Maltese, as Fumerton and Thayne Hallyburton ran side-by-side for ninth. Fumerton got the spot on Lap 26 ahead of Hallyburton, with Baker, Inglis, and Wilkinson rounding out the top-13. Baker would then get alongside Hallyburton for 10th with five laps to go.

Rick Spencer-Walt picked up the win ahead of Gord Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton, Danny Benedict, and Ron Quesnelle. Billy Zardo finished sixth, followed by Daniel Montanari, Paul Maltese, Ernie Fumerton, and Dwayne Baker. Thayne Hallyburton finished 11th, followed by Al Inglis, Mike Wilkinson, Stefan Semeraro, Chris McIssac, Brandon Feeney and Robbie Sikes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.