mini stocks

Will Gibbons Leads Flag-to-Flag En Route to Sunset Speedway Victory

After weeks of wet weather, the Spring Velocity feature was made up in style for the G.D. Coates Used Car Superstore Mini Stocks, with Will Gibbons leading flag-to-flag en route to the victory.

Following the qualifying that took place in May, Will Gibbon started pole ahead of Dylan Holmes, Erik Dalla Riva, Chandler Bos, Melissa Bullen, Samantha Shaw, C.K. Thompson, Bob Phinnemore, Tyler Seaboyer, Jason D’Antimo, Curtis Stewart, Eric Rainey, Peter Wakeling, Rob Welles, Doug Wilman, Taylor Thring, Amanda Shave, and Connor Maltese.

The drop of the green flag saw a battle for the lead between Gibbons and Holmes, with Gibbons snagging the top spot on Lap 2 ahead of Holmes, as Dalla Riva and Bos battled for third ahead of Shaw. Behind them, Bullen ran sixth with Seaboyer and Thompson side-by-side for seventh. Seaboyer got the spot on Lap 4, with Phinnemore rounding out the top-nine.

Dalla Riva would take over the third spot on Lap 6, with Shaw moving into fourth a lap later ahead of Bos and Seaboyer, as Bullen ran side-by-side with Thompson for seventh. Behind them, Phinnemore ran ninth ahead of D’Antimo, Welles, Stewart, Wilman, Shave, Thring, Rainey, and Maltese. Wilman would get alongside Stewart for 12th on Lap 10, completing the pass a lap later, bringing Shave through with him.

With 14 laps on the board, Thompson would get the seventh spot, with Phinnemore getting alongside Bullen for eighth. D’Antimo ran 10th ahead of Welles, Shave, Stewart, Thring, and Maltese, as Wakeling headed into the pits. Bullen would get the eighth spot on Lap 18, with Wilman heading down pit road a lap later. The front of the field would get interesting, with Shaw getting by Dalla Riva for third on Lap 19.

Will Gibbons would lead the rest of the way en route to the victory ahead of Samantha Shaw, Dylan Holmes, Erik Dalla Riva, and Chandler Bos. Tyler Seaboyer finished sixth, followed by C.K. Thompson, Melissa Bullen, Bob Phinnemore, and Amanda Shave. Jason D’Antimo finished 11th, followed by Curtis Stewart, Rob Welles, Taylor Thring, Connor Maltese, Eric Rainey, Shiann Wilman, and Peter Wakeling.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.