Flamboro Speedway

Erik Dalla Riva Scores Birthday Feature Victory at Flamboro

Erik Dalla Riva celebrated his birthday in style at Flamboro Speedway, winning the Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stock feature on Sunday afternoon.

Will Gibbons started pole ahead of Erik Dalla Riva, Tyler Lewis, Michael Hooper, Dylan Sharpe, Wayde Thorne, Matt Young, Kyle DaSilva, Rob Welles, Kyle Istead, Jonathan Ayrton, Kaitlyn Wallace, Karl Sault, Jake Watson, John Ditner, Shawn Taylor, Morgan Robson, Michael Kenny, and Kyle Steckly.

Off the drop of the green flag, Erik Dalla Riva grabbed the early advantage ahead of Will Gibbons, Tyler Lewis, Dylan Sharpe, and Michael Hooper. Matt Young and Wayde Thorne battled side-by-side for sixth, with Young getting the spot. However, it’d be Kyle Istead moving forward, taking sixth on Lap 4 ahead of Young, with DaSilva and Ayrton side-by-side for eighth.

Sault took the pair of them three-wide on Lap 5, taking over eighth on Lap 6, with Watson following him through as DaSilva got into the outside wall. Unfortunately, that marked the end of the day for DaSilva as he pulled off the following lap. The rest of them were able to continue, Sault even able to maintain the eighth position despite sliding sideways through turns one and two on Lap 8.

At the halfway mark, Dalla Riva continued to lead ahead of Gibbons, Lewis, Sharpe, Istead, Sault, Watson, and Hooper. Hooper’s strong run came to an end on Lap 12, as he pulled into the infield with an overheating issue.  This allowed Young to move up into eighth ahead of Shawn Taylor and Kyle Steckly.

As Morgan Robson pulled off with a mechanical issue at Lap 14, Sault’s climb through the field continued with pass on Istead to move up into the top-five. Watson would then follow suit, moving up into sixth two laps later to bump Istead back to seventh ahead of Young, Steckly, Taylor, and Kaitlyn Wallace. Sault’s climb didn’t stop there, as he’d pass Sharpe for fourth with two laps to go, before passing Lewis a lap later.

Erik Dalla Riva cruised to the feature victory ahead of Will Gibbons, Karl Sault, Tyler Lewis, and Dylan Sharpe. Jake Watson finished sixth, followed by Kyle Istead, Kyle Steckly, Matt Young, and Shawn Taylor. Jonathan Ayrton finished 11th, followed by Kaitlyn Wallace, Michael Kenny, and John Ditner. Wayde Thorne, Mike Hooper, Rob Welles, Morgan Robson, Kyle DaSilva, and Dale Millard failed to finish.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.