Flamboro Speedway

Karl Sault Continues Winning Ways at Flamboro Speedway

Karl Sault is quickly proving why he’s the driver to watch when it comes to the Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stock championship battle, as he picked up another feature victory, marking his third in the first six features of the season.

Kaitlyn Wallace started on pole ahead of Jonathan Ayrton, Shawn Taylor, Matt Young, Kyle Istead, Jake Watson, Dylan Sharpe, Tyler Lewis, Karl Sault, Will Gibbons, Wayde Thorne, Mike Hooper, Erik Dalla Riva, Kyle Steckly, John Ditner, Dale Millard, Rob Welles, Michael Kenny, and Morgan Robson.

Shawn Taylor made the right moves early, grabbing the early advantage ahead of Ayrton, as Watson and Young battled side-by-side. Unfortunately, that battle would not end well with contact being made, resulting in both hitting the outside turn three and four wall, collecting Istead, Dalla Riva, and Lewis with them. Watson would display his displeasure with Young on the track, before the discussion continued in the pits. As a result, Watson would be parked and disqualified for “unsportsmanlike conduct.”

With the incident in the books, Taylor would be lead for the restart ahead of Ayrton, Wallace, Sharpe, Gibbons, Sault, Thorne, Hooper, Millard, Kenny, Ditner, Istead, Lewis, Dalla Riva and Welles.

The restart would see Kenny, Istead and Millard go three-wide, with contact happening which got Kenny sideways. As he and Millard came down the track, they’d collect Dalla Riva in the process, sending him down through the infield. Dalla Riva would cut back through the infield of the track, before stopping to let the field pass, rejoining at the back.

At the front, Taylor would hold the lead with Wallace back up to second, as Sharpe and Sault battled for third ahead of Gibbons. Sault got the spot, followed by passing Wallace for second on Lap 8. Sharpe now ran fourth ahead of Gibbons, Ayrton and Thorne. Unfortunately, Wallace’s strong run came to an early end as she pulled off with an issue with 11 laps to go.

At the front of the field, Sault’s climb took him right to the top, as he got alongside Taylor for the top spot on Lap 11. He would complete the pass a lap later to take the lead, with Sharpe following him through with seven laps to go for second. Taylor now ran third ahead of Gibbons, Istead and Hooper. Gibbons then followed suit, passing Taylor for third on Lap 15, as Thorne headed pit side with a mechanical issue.

Karl Sault led the rest of the way en route to picking up the victory ahead of Dylan Sharpe, Will Gibbons, Shawn Taylor, and Erik Dalla Riva. Jonathan Ayrton finished sixth, followed by Kyle Istead, Mike Hooper, Tyler Lewis, and Michael Kenny. Rob Welles finished 11th, while Wayde Thorne, Kaitlyn Wallace, Jake Watson, Dale Millard, John Ditner, Kyle Steckly, Matt Young and Morgan Robson failed to finish. Kyle DaSilva would not take the green flag.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.