Ontario Legend Series

Gregory Rudzik Scores Legends Feature Victory at Autumn Colours Classic

Making the trip up from Michigan, Gregory Rudzik led flag-to-flag en route to scoring the victory in the Autumn Colours Classic at Peterborough Speedway.

The weekend did not start off cleanly, though, as Cole Ledson overshot turn one, taking Miles Tyson over the hill with him. Dave Riopelle picked up the win ahead of Adam Cuthbertson, Terry McCelland, Don Arnott, and Andrew McFadden.

Unfortunately, Andrew Massey had a problem before the start of the second qualifier, while Jamie Riberdy would spin James McArthur, collecting Bryan Batty. Parker Traves picked up the win ahead of Paul Perik, McArthur, Rick Eades, and Dawson Drimmie.

Cole McFadden won the third heat ahead of Wes Cuthbertson, Rudzik, Jeff Drimmie, Joe Sherman, Cory Richardson, the 55, and Chuck Hopkins.

Adam Cuthbertson picked up the win in the fourth qualifier ahead of Riopelle, McCelland, Tyson, Shawn Murray, Andrew McFadden, and Arnott.

The fifth heat saw McArthur go around in turns three and four, while Jamie Riberdy picked up the win ahead of Traves, Batty, Eades, McArthur, and Jeff Drimmie.

Cole McFadden went for the daily double ahead of Rudzik, Wes Cuthbertson, Richardson, Dawson Drimmie,  Serman, Hopkins, and the 55.

In the consolation race, Don Arnott jumped out to the early lead ahead of McArthur, Hopkins, Murray, Eades, Sherman, Richardson and the 55 as Batty headed down pit road on Lap 6, done early. The first caution flew on Lap 11 for McAthur and Hopkins both going around.

Shawn Murray got a good restart, passing Arnott for the top spot as Hopkins ran third. Hopkins then made his move, taking the lead on Lap 19 ahead of Murray. Chuck Hopkins picked up the win ahead of Sherman, Eades, Arnott, Richardson, McArthur, the 55, Murray, and Batty.

Come feature time, Gregory Rudzik started pole ahead of Wesley Cuthbertson, Adam Cuthhbertson, Parker Traves, Dave Riopelle, Cole McFadden, Terry McCelland, James McArthur, Jeff Drimmie, Rick Eades, Bryan Batty, Miles Tyson, Cory Richardson, Joe Sherman, and Don Arnott.

Rudzik jumped out to the early lead ahead of Adam Cuthbertson as Wesley Cuthbertson and Riopelle ran side-by-side for third. Riopelle got the spot on Lap 2 ahead of Wesley, with McFadden rounding out the top-five. The caution then came out, though, as Richardson, Dawson Drimmie and Sherman got tangled up together.

Rudzik got a good restart ahead of Adam Cuthbertson with Cole McFadden moving into third ahead of Riopelle, before the caution came out on Lap 4 for Richardson going around in turn one. Rudzik got another good restart, as McFadden moved into second ahead of Cuthbertson. Riopelle then bumped Cuthbertson on Lap 6, though was unable to make a pass before the third caution for Batty spinning in turn one.

The first attempt at a restart saw Sherman spin Eades, collecting Murray in the process. The second attempt didn’t go smoother, with McArthur spinning in turn two. The third attempt went cleanly with Rudzik leading McFadden, Cuthbertson, Riopelle, Tyson, Wesley Cuthbertson, Traves, Riberdy, McCelland, Perik, Jeff Drimmie, and Hopkins.

Traves continued to move forward, passing Wesley Cuthbertson for sixth on Lap 13, and bringing Riberdy, McCelland, Perik, and Drimmie through with him. Cuthbertson continued to fall back as Hopkins moved into 11th on Lap 15, followed by Batty, the 55, McArthur and Eades.

Riopelle then got alongside Adam Cuthbertson for third at Lap 18, completing the pass a lap later, and bringing Tyson through with him. Cuthbertson now ran fifth ahead of Traves and Riberdy. The sixth caution then came out on Lap 26 for Batty slowing with a problem.

Rudzik got a good restart ahead of McFadden, Riopelle, Tyson, Traves, Riberdy, and Adam Cuthbertson.  Cuthbertson tried to pass Riberdy for sixth, but instead fell back to eighth after being passed by Perik on Lap 29. Behind them, McCelland ran ninth ahead of Jeff Drimmie and McArthur. McCelland would then get by Cuthbertson for eighth on Lap 32.

Behind them, McArthur got alongside Drimmie for 10th, but was unable to complete the pass. Instead, Wesley Cuthbertson moved into 10th on Lap 34 ahead of McArthur and Drimmie. Behind them, Hopkins had an interesting moment as he climbed the wall with five laps to go.

Gregory Rudzik picked up the win ahead of Cole McFadden, Dave Riopelle, Miles Tyson, Parker Traves, Jamie Riberdy, Paul Perik, Terry McCelland, Adam Cuthbertson, Wesley Cuthbertson, James McArthur,  and Jeff Drimmie.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.