Flamboro Speedway

Chris Milwain Leads Flag-to-Flag in Frostoberfest Modified Feature

Starting on pole, Chris Milwain did not look back all feature long, leading all 30 laps en route to scoring the Frostoberfest victory at Flamboro Speedway.

John Harper won the first heat ahead of Tim Tolton, Chris Milwain, Gary McLean, Mike Westwood, Cliff Hodgkinson, Jase Cornell, and Wally Wilson.

Thereā€™d be a quick caution at Lap 5 in heat two for Matt Barton spinning Marshall Schrenk in turn one. Cory Horner won ahead of A.J. Emms, Rob Di Venanzo, Dale Reinhart, Luke Gignac, Schrenk, and Barton.

Dale Reinhart won the third heat ahead of Gignac, McLean, Cornell, Hodgkinson, Schrenk, and Westwood.

Chris Milwain won the fourth heat ahead of Emms, Tolton, Barton, Harper, Di Venanzo, Harper, and Wilson.

Come feature time, Chris Milwain started pole ahead of A.J. Emms, Dale Reinhart, Tim Tolton, Cory Horner, John Harper, Luke Gignac, Gary McLean, Rob Di Venanzo, Cliff Hodgkinson, Jase Cornell, Matt Barton, Marshall Schrenk, Mike Westwood, Wally Wilson, and David Balych.

The opening lap saw Milwain and Emms battle side-by-side for the lead, with Milwain taking the top spot on Lap 2 ahead of Emms, Reinhart, Tolton, and Horner. John Harper ran sixth ahead of McLean, Gignac, Di Venanzo, and Barton, with Cornell and Hodgkinson rounding out the top 12. Westwood got alongside Hodgkinson for 12th at Lap 6, but was unable to complete the pass as he fell back in line. Behind them, Balych ran 14th ahead of Schrenk and Wilson.

McLean began his climb forward, passing Harper for sixth at Lap 10, with the caution flying a lap later for Di Venanzo and Westwood spinning on the backstetch.

Milwain got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Emms and Reinhart, as Tolton and Horner battled for fourth. Horner got the spot on Lap 14, bringing McLean through with him. Tolton now ran sixth ahead of Harper, Barton, Gignac, Cornell, Hodgkinson, and Westwood. The second caution flew on Lap 18 for Di Venanzo and Westwood going around off of turn four.

The restart produced the third caution for an incident involving Balych, Cornell, Westwood and Hodgkinson. The second attempt was clean with Milwain continuing to lead ahead of Emms, Horner, Reinhart and McLean as Tolton and Harper ran side-by-side for sixth. Harper got the spot on Lap 20, with Gignac looking to follow him through. But the caution would fly for Emms spinning in turn two.

Milwain got another good restart now ahead of Horner, with Reinhart and McLean side-by-side for the third. McLean got the spot on Lap 25 as Emms pulled back off the track, with the fifth caution flying a lap later for Barton spinning Di Venanzo. With four laps to go, Milwain led Horner, McLean, Reinhart, Harper, and Gignac.

Milwain got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of McLean and Horner, but the caution flew once again with three laps to go for Gignac spinning Reinhart.

Chris Milwain got a good restart, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring his third feature victory of 2017. Gary McLean was the runner-up for his second straight podium, with Cory Horner in third with his eighth top-five. John Harper finished fourth for his fifth top-five, with Tim Tolton in fifth for his second top-five.

Matt Barton finished sixth for his third top-10, with Cliff Hodgkinson in seventh for his fifth top-10. Dale Reinhart placed eighth for his 10th top-10, with Luke Gignac in ninth for his ninth top-10. Jase Cornell rounded out the top-10 with his fourth career top-10.

Rob Di Venanzo finished 11th, followed by Marshall Schrenk, Mike Westwood, Wally Wilson, A.J. Emms, and David Balych.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.