Flamboro Speedway

Robin Jongen Scores Ontario Legends Series Frostoberfest Victory

Taking the lead on a mid-race restart, Robin Jongen scored the Ontario Legends Series Frostoberfest feature victory at Flamboro Speedway.

Dave Riopelle won the first heat ahead of Kevin Foisy, Paul Perik, Robin Jongen, Jeff Drimmie, the 2, Bailey Brown, Bill Mason, Joe Sherman, and the 50.

Cole McFadden won the second heat ahead of Miles Tyson, Josh Indig, Bryan Batty, Matt Haufe, Terry McCelland, Parker Traves, Sam Reczin, Dawson Drimmie, and Andre Fiorini.

The third heat would see contact between Tyson and Traves while battling for the lead on the last lap, with Traves catching some air. Matt Haufe won ahead of Indig, Cole McFadden, Andrew McFadden, Dawson Drimmie, Fiorini, and Reczin.

The fourth heat also saw contact while battling for the lead, this time between Foisy and Riopelle. Robin Jongen picked up the win ahead of Foisy, the 2, Perik, Riopelle, Brown, Jeff Drimmie, Mason, Sherman, and the 50.

Come feature time, Kevin Foisy jumped out to the early lead ahead of Cole McFadden. Josh Indig would get alongside McFadden for second on Lap 2 ahead of Robin Jongen, Dave Riopelle, Paul Perik, and the 2 as Matt Haufe pulled off the track. Indig was able to clear Fadden on Lap 5, with Riopelle passing Jongen for fourth.

Jongen now ran fifth as of Lap 6 ahead of the 2 and Perik. Miles Tyson then got alongside Perik for seventh on Lap 7, completing the pass a lap later as Terry McCelland and Traves battled for ninth. McCelland got the spot on Lap 9 ahead of Traves, Bryan Batty, Bailey Brown, Jeff Drimmie, and Andrew McFadden.

McCelland then got alongside Perik for eighth on Lap 11, completing the pass a lap later and bringing Traves through with him. Traves then got alongside McCelland for eighth at Lap 13, when the caution flew for Indig spinning courtesy of Cole McFadden.

The first attempt at a restart saw a second caution, this time involving Riopelle as he went around. The second attempt was clean with Jongen taking the lead as Foisy moved into second, with McCelland and the 2 side-by-side for third ahead of Perik, Traves, and Tyson. But the green flag didn’t last for long, though, as the third caution came out on Lap 15 for Brown spinning in turn two.

Robin Jongen got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Foisy and the 2, as McCelland and Traves battled for third, with Tyson and Cole McFadden side-by-side for fifth. But the fourth caution would come out on Lap 17 due to Brown spinning on the frontstretch.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Jongen and Foisy, with Jongen grabbing the advantage. However, the red flag was next to come out with Andrew McFadden catching fire in turns one and two.

The race was then called with 19 laps complete, giving the win to Robin Jongen ahead of Kevin Foisy, the 2, and Terry McCelland.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.