Flamboro Speedway

Ryan Edwards-Kiss and Shawn Taylor Split Mini Stock Features at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario — A pair of familiar fast cars found their way to victory lane in Mini Stock action at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night, with Ryan Edwards-Kiss and Shawn Taylor picking up the checkered flags.

Mike Gilmour started pole for the first feature ahead of Kaitlyn Wallace, Shawn Taylor, Ryan Edwards-Kiss, Mike Thomson, Bobby Mercer, Nikki King, and Issac Goodfellow.

The feature did not start off well, with Thomson making contact with the outside turn one wall after a steering issue. The restart saw Mike Gilmour grab the advantage, as Wallace and Taylor battled for second. Taylor got the spot on Lap 2, with Edwards-Kiss trying to follow him through, but the yellow flag flew on Lap 3 for Gilmour going around. Taylor would be sent to the back as an involved car, allowing Kaitlyn Wallace to inherit the top spot.

The restart saw King go around for a spin in turns one and two, but able to get back going without a yellow flag. Ryan Edwards-Kiss was the man at the front, though, taking over the top spot as Wallace battled Mercer for second. Mercer got the spot on Lap 5, with Taylor looking to follow him through. Mercer’s strong run came to end two laps later, though, as he slowed at the bottom of the track with a problem.

Taylor would over the runner-up spot on Lap 8, bringing Gilmour through with him as Wallace ran fourth in front of Goodfellow and King. King would go for another spin four laps later, but once again able to get back going. Taylor would challenge for the top spot through the final 10 laps, getting alongside Edwards-Kiss on a couple occasions. Each time, though, he was unable to complete the pass for the win.

Ryan Edwards-Kiss held on for the victory in front of Shawn Taylor, Mike Gilmour, Kaitlyn Wallace, Issac Goodfellow, and Nikki King, as Bobby Mercer and Mike Thomson failed to finish.

The second feature did not start off well, with Mike Gilmour slowing on the backstretch. Shawn Taylor grabbed the lead off the drop of the green, pacing the full distance, with Mike Thomson placing second after getting by Kaitlyn Wallace on Lap 11. Ryan Edwards-Kiss placed fourth, followed by Bobby Mercer, Issac Goodfellow, and Nikki King.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.