Race Reports

Paul Pepper Leads Flag-to-Flag En Route to First Career Feature Victory

INNISFIL, Ontario — Starting on the pole, Paul Pepper did not look back en route to scoring his first career Super Stock feature victory on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Gerrit Tiemersma won the first heat in front of Dan Archibald, Anthony DiBello, Jordan Howse, Tyler Hawn, and Joe Daley.

Cory McAllister won the second qualifier ahead of Nick Tooley, Matt McGrath, Paul Pepper, Johnny Morrison, and Connor Maltese.

The third heat did not go smoothly, as both Archibald and Howse tried to go three-wide underneath Hawn going into turn three, resulting in both Archibald and Howse going for a spin. Anthony DiBello picked up the checkered flag in front of Tiemersma, Archibald, Hawn, Daley, and Howse.

The fourth qualified also had a caution, following contact between Tooley and McGrath. Paul Pepper snagged the victory ahead of McAllister, Morrison, Tooley, and Maltese.

Come feature time, Paul Pepper and Cory McAllister started on the front row, battling for the top spot off the drop of the green flag as Gerrit Tiemersma ran third ahead of Nick Tooley, with Johnny Morrison and Matt McGrath side-by-side for fifth. Pepper grabbed the advantage on Lap 3, with Tiemersma passing McAllister for second a lap later. Tooley continued to run fourth in front of McGrath, Morrison, and Howse.

Howse would then get alongside Morrison for sixth on Lap 6, with Howse grabbing the initial advantage, only for Morrison to get back alongside with the crossover. Behind them, DiBello was able to get by Hawn for eighth on Lap 11, as Daley and Maltese rounded out the top-11. Howse’s efforts would pay off, as he was able to take the position on Lap 13. DiBello tried to follow him through, only to watch Morrison perform the same move once again, and keep the spot, as Hawn got by DiBello for eighth.

Paul Pepper led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory in front of Gerrit Tiemersma, Cory McAllister, Nick Tooley, and Matt McGrath.

Pos         Car#       Driver

  1. 29 Paul Pepper
  2. 17 Gerrit Tiemersma
  3. 71 Cory McAllister
  4. 28 Nick Tooley
  5. 65 Matt McGrath
  6. 52 Brandon Passer
  7. 83 Johnny Morrison
  8. 2 Tyler Hawn
  9. 50 Joe Daley
  10. 23 Connor Maltese
  11. 16 Anthony DiBello

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.