mini stocks

Checkers or Wreckers – Matt Boyes Drives to Victory at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — After seeing his night end early last week due to a crash in qualifying, Matt Boyes drove his way to the front of the field to score the feature victory on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Josh Bullen won the first heat in front of Charlie Smith, Chandler Bos, John Bird, Chris Allard, Eric Rainey, Ryan D’Antimo, and Madison Tienkamps.

Matt Boyes won the second qualifier ahead of Cameron McGlashan, Jason D’Antimo, Peter Wakeling, Wyatt Suttcliffe, and Kris Inglis.

Chandler Bos won the third heat in front of Bullen, Smith, Allard, Bird, Ryan D’Antimo, Rainey, and Tienkamps.

Matt Boyes went for the daily double ahead of Jason D’Antimo, Coleridge Phinnemore, McGlashan, Wakeling, and Inglis, as Sutcliffe made his way down pit road with a mechanical issue.

Come feature time, John Bird started pole alongside Chris Allard, Peter Wakeling, Cameron McGlashan, Jason D’Antimo, Charlie Smith, Kris Inglis, Matt Boyes, Josh Bullen, Chandler Bos, Eric Rainey, Ryan D’Antimo, Coleridge Phinnemore, Madison Tienkamps, and Wyatt Sutcliffe.

Chris Allard broke out to the early lead, with McGlashan up to second when the caution waved on Lap 2 after Peter Wakeling wrecked on the backstretch, collecting Jason D’Antimo with him. The incident started courtesy of Wakeling coming up across Josh Bullen’s front bumper. The restart saw a battle for the lead between Allard and McGashan, with Allard holding serve courtesy of contact with McGlashan. Allard would slow down, though, bringing out the yellow flag on Lap 4.

Chandler Bos grabbed the advantage on the second attempt, as McGlashan battled Boyes for second. Boyes got the spot on Lap 5, as Bullen ran fourth in front of Phinnemore, with Bird and Ryan D’Antimo side-by-side for sixth. Bird got the spot on Lap 7, bringing Allard through with him, as D’Antimo ran eighth in front of Rainey, Suttcliffe, Smith, Inglis, and Tienkamps.

Matt Boyes would continue his steady climb towards the front, ultimately taking the lead on Lap 9, with his teammate Bird passing Phinnemore for fifth on Lap 13. The shuffles for position continued, with Bullen moving up into second past Bos on Lap 16.

Matt Boyes led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory in front of Josh Bullen, Chandler Bos, Cameron McGlashan, and John Bird.

Pos         Car#       Driver

  1. 78 Matt Boyes
  2. 67 Josh Bullen
  3. 22 Chandler Bos
  4. 83 Cameron McGlashan
  5. 77 John Bird
  6. 76 Chris Allard
  7. 80 Coleridge Phinnemore
  8. 46 Ryan D’Antimo
  9. 12 Eric Rainey
  10. 72 Wyatt Sutcliffe
  11. 1 Bob Phinnemore
  12. 52 Kris Inglis
  13. 9 Madisson Tienkamp
  14. 05 Peter Wakeling
  15. 23D Jason D’Antimo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.