mini stocks

Matt Boyes Rebounds for Dominating Mini Stock Feature Victory at Sunset

After seeing his opening night end early as a result of a wreck, Matt Boyes dominated en route to victory lane on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Matt Boyes won the first heat ahead of Curtis Stewart, John Bird, Cole Burrows, Coleridge Phinnemore, Chris Thompson, Donovan Burleigh, and Sera Giannone.

Cameron McGlashan won the second qualifier in front of Chandler Bos, Peter Wakeling, Jason D’Antimo, Chris Allard, Eric Rainey, Justin Fox, and Wyatt Suttcliffe.

The third heat featured an incident when Burleigh spun around on the frontstretch, making significant contact with the wall after contact with Thompson. Boyes went for the daily double ahead of Burrows, Stewart, Phinnemore, Madison Tienkamp, Thompson, and Giannone.

Chandler Bos won the fourth qualifier in front of McGlashan, Wakeling, Patrick Farrow, Allard, D’Antimo, Rainey, Sutcliffe, and Fox.

Come feature time, Jason D’Antimo started pole in front of Coleridge Phinnemore, Cole Burrows, Peter Wakeling, Curtis Stewart, Chandler Bos, Cameron McGlashan, Matt Boyes, Chris Allard, John Bird, Eric Rainey, Patrick Farrow, Madison Tienkamp, and Sara Giannone.

Jason D’Antimo broke out to the early lead, with Phinnemore and Burrows side-by-side for second. Burrows got the spot on Lap 2, bringing Boyes, Stewart, and McGlashan through with him. McGlashan then got alongside Stewart for fourth on Lap 3, with Boyes alongside Burrows a lap later for second.

Boyes got the spot before the first caution flag at Lap 5 for Tienkamp going around on the frontstretch, and backing the mustang into the wall. With 20 laps to go, D’Antimo led Boyes, Burrows, McGlashan, Stewart, Bos, Wakeling, Allard, Rainey, Farrow, and Sutcliffe.

Matt Boyes got a good restart to grab the advantage, with McGlashan alongside D’Antimo for second. McGlashan got the spot a lap later, bringing Bos through with him, as Burrows ran fifth in front of Bird, Stewart, and Allard. Bird continued to move forward, passing Burrows for fifth on Lap 9, followed by a  pass on D’Antimo a lap later for fourth. D’Antimo now ran fifth in front of Stewart and Allard, with Wakeling and Farrow side-by-side for eighth.

Farrow moved into eighth on Lap 12 ahead of Wakeling and Rainey, as they went by the lap car of Giannone. Phinnemore ran 11th, followed by Sutcliffe, Tienkamp, and Giannone. Unfortunately, Tienkamp’s feature came to an end as she made her way down pit road on Lap 17. Bird continued to move forward, though, passing Bos for third on Lap 23.

The late-race shuffle would take place inside the top-five behind Boyes, though, as the group weaved through lap traffic. Bos was able to get the spot back shortly thereafter, with both making their way by McGlashan in the closing stages.

Matt Boyes picked up the checkered flag in front of Chandler Bos, John Bird, Cameron McGlashan, Jason D’Antimo, Curtis Stewart, Cole Burrows, Chris Allard, Patrick Farrow, Peter Wakeling, Eric Rainey, Coleridge Phinnemore, Wyatt Suttcliffe, Sara Giannone, and Madison Tienkamp.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.