Race Reports

Lane Zardo Comes Back From Crash to Score Super Stock Victory

INNISFIL, Ontario — Despite being caught up in the front stretch parking lot wreck, Lane Zardo rebounded to score the Super Stock feature victory on Sunday at Sunset Speedway.

Lane Zardo won the first heat ahead of Dwayne Baker, Paul Pepper, Brandon McFerran, Dan Robb, and Paul Boundy.

Matt Bentley scored the win in the second qualifier in front of Cory McAllister, Frank Davey, Brandon Passer, Todd Davenport, and Justin Collison.

Lane Zardo doubled down ahead of Baker, Pepper, Robb, McFerran, and Boundy.

Frank Davey scored the win in the fourth qualifier in front of Passer, Bentley, McAllister, Collison, and Davenport.

Come feature time, Cory McAllister started pole ahead of Dan Robb, Todd Davenport, Frank Davey, Matt Bentley, Dwayne Baker, Paul Pepper, Brandon Passer, Paul Boundy, Lane Zardo, Brandon McFerran, and Justin Collison.

The drop of the green saw a battle for the lead between McAllister and Robb, while Davenport ran side-by-side with Davey for third. McAllister got the top spot on Lap 2, with Davenport alongside Robb for second, as Bentley got alongside Davey for fourth.

The caution would come out on Lap 4 as a result of a parking lot on the frontstretch. Robb would get sideways on the outside of Davey, coming down into him, getting him sideways, with Baker up on Davey, and Zardo up on Baker. With 27 laps to go, McAllister led Davenport, Bentley, Collison, Passer, Pepper, McFerran, Boundy, Robb, Zardo, and Davey.

McAllister and Davenport battled for the lead on the restart, with Bentley and Collison side-by-side for third. Bentley got the spot on Lap 5, with Passer and McFerran following him through. McAllister would take the top spot two laps later, with Bentley challenging Davenport for second in front of Passer, McFerran, and Collison.

Bentley would move into second on Lap 9, bringing Passer through with him as Zardo looked to follow. Bentley did not stop there, taking the top spot on Lap 11, once again bringing Passer through with him.

McAllister now ran third in front of Davenport, Zardo, McFerran and Davey, with Pepper and Collison side-by-side for eighth. Pepper took the spot on Lap 15 ahead of Collison, with Robb and Boundy rounding out the top-10. The shuffling continued through the field, with Davey getting alongside McFerran for sixth on Lap 16.

With 17 laps on the board, Bentley led Passer, McAllister, Zardo, Davenport, Davey, McFerran, Pepper and Collison, as Robb headed into the pits. Davey would move into fifth on Lap 19, with Pepper getting by McFerran for seventh a couple laps later. Zardo continued to move forward, passing McAllsiter for third on Lap 25.

McFerran would work his way back alongside Pepper for seventh, when the caution came out on Lap 27 for Bentley blowing the motor. The restart would see issues on the backstretch, resulting in another yellow flag and the nose tore up for McFerran.

The restart would see a battle for the lead between Passer and Zardo, with Lane Zardo grabbing the victory.

1 36 Lane Zardo
2 52 Brandon Passer
3 49 Frank Davey
4 71 Cory McAllister
5 30 Todd Davenport
6 56 Brandon McFerran
7 29 Paul Pepper
8 08 Paul Boundy
9 12 Justin Collison
10 21 Matt Bentley
11 65 Dan Robb
12 48 Dwayne Baker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.