Race Reports

Paul Maltese Breaks Through to Victory Lane at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — After coming close multiple times over the past couple of seasons, Paul Maltese had everything go his way en route to winning the Limited Late Model feature at Sunset Speedway.

Myles Tyson won the first heat ahead of Paul Maltese, Rick Spencer-Walt, Daniel Montanari, Alex Hastie, Chris McIssac, and Tyler Segan.

Dustyn Mombourquette won the second heat ahead of Billy Zardo, Mike Wilkinson, Kendra Adams, and Al Inglis, as Thayne Hallyburton pulled off with issues.

Paul Maltese won the third heat ahead of Spencer-Walt, Tyson, Montanari, Hastie, McIssac, and Segan.

Kendra Adams won the fourth heat ahead of Mombourquette, Wikinson and Zardo, with Inglis running into mechanical issues.

Come feature time, Billy Zardo started pole ahead of Paul Maltese, Miles Tyson, Dustyn Mombourquette, Kendra Adams, Mike Wilkinson, Daniel Montanari, Alex Hastie, Chris McIssac, Rick Spencer-Walt, Tyler Segan, and Al Inglis.

Paul Maltese would break out into the early lead, with Zardo and Mombourquette side-by-side for second ahead of Tyson and Wilkinson. Behind them, Adams and Hastie battled for sixth, with Spencer-Walt getting by Montanari for eighth on Lap 3.

Mombourquette would secure second on Lap 4, bringing Tyson through with him to bump Zardo back to fourth. Wilkinson continued to run fifth, with Spencer-Walt taking Adams and Hastie three-wide for sixth on Lap 6.

Spencer-Walt would get the spot two laps later, before getting by Wilkinson for fifth on Lap 12. The progress continued for Spencer-Walt, as he got alongside Zardo for foruth on Lap 13, getting by him four laps later as Zardo got stuck behind the lap car of McIssac.

Just past the halfway mark, there’d be a battle for the lead as Mombourquette was able to get alongside Maltese, with Spencer-Walt side-by-side with Tyson for third. Maltese was able to hold off the challenge, with Spencer-Walt getting by Tyson on Lap 23. Mombourquette challenged once again for the lead two laps later, though was unable to complete the pass.

Paul Maltese captured the checkered flag ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, Rick Spencer-Walt, Billy Zardo, and Miles Tyson. Mike Wilkinson finished sixth, followed by Kendra Adams, Alex Hastie, Daniel Montanari, and Chris McIssac. Tyler Segan and Al Inglis rounded out the field.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.