Flamboro Speedway

Kris Khan Scores Operation Green Flag Victory at Flamboro Speedway

Running up front all race long, Kris Khan would score the victory in the Pure Stock portion of Operation Green Flag at Flamboro Speedway.

Kyle Neumeister laid down the quickest lap in time trials at 19.446 for the pole, followed by Don Yorke (19.45), Andy Wheller (19.507), Nic Ramsay (19.577), and Gillian Hils (19.62). Kris Khan qualified sixth, followed by David Rockwood, Jordan Lawrence, Bobby Mercer, and Stephen Finnegan. Kris Lawrence was 11th, followed by Steve Arrand, Phil Givens, Kyle Novis, Kyle Lucas, Jordan Morris, Leo Labarbera, Courtney Scott, John Lavalle, and Russ Couture. Brandon Steele qualified 21st, followed by Doug Wilman, Zach Harrison, Connor Parkes, Jimmy Hooper, Brian Gamble, Andrew Shilling, Karlie Wilman, and Austyn Jennett.

Following qualifying, a couple cars ran into issues with Lawrence, Lucas, Wilman, Steve DeLeeuw, and Scott all starting scratch on the field.

The invert would be eight, putting Jordan Lawrence and Arrand on the front row. Arrand jumped out to the early lead, with Khan alongside Lawrence for second. Meanwhile, Ramsay slowed with an issue on the third lap. Khan took over second on Lap 5 ahead of Rockwood, Neumeister, and Hils.

The shuffling up front would happen quickly, with Rockwood out front in control ahead of his teammate Wheller on Lap 8, with Khan and Neumeister side-by-side for third. Neumeister took the spot a lap later ahead of Khan and Hils, while Givens ran sixth ahead of Finnegan, Morris, Mercer, Yorke, Lawrence, Arrand, and Kris Lawrence.

Neumeister continued to move forward, passing Wheller for second on Lap 17, bringing Khan, Hils, Givens, and Finnegan through with him as Wheller slowed with an issue, heading pit side. Neumeister would challenge Rockwood for the top spot two laps later, but was unable to clear him for the pass.

The pair would get back side-by-side for the top spot once again on Lap 24, but the caution would come out due to Scott losing a wheel off of turn four. With 16 laps to go, Rockwood led Neumeister, Khan, Hils, Givens, Finnegan, Mercer, Morris, Yorke, and Jordan Lawrence.

Neumeister would get a good restart to grab the lead ahead of Rockwood, leaving Khan and Hils to battle for third. However, that’d be short lived with the second caution on Lap 27 for Finnegan losing a wheel.

Neumeister got away on the restart, allowing Khan to get alongside Rockwood for second ahead of Hils, Givens, and Mercer. Khan got the spot on Lap 29, with Hils following suit to take third. Rockwood ran fourth ahead of Givens, Mercer, Jordan Lawrence, Yorke, and Kris Lawrence. The caution came back out, though, this time on Lap 31 for Couture stalling.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Neumeister and Khan, with Neumeister holding serve once again. Neumeister then led the final nine laps en route to crossing the checkered in first.

Following the event in post-race technical inspection, though, Kyle Neumeister was disqualified for the win under a technical infraction. As a result, Kris Khan would be scored as your race winner ahead of Gillian Hils, David Rockwood, Phil Givens, and Jordan Lawrence.

Kris Lawrence was credited with sixth, followed by Kyle Novis, Leo Labarbera, Kyle Lucas, and Steve Arrand. Andrew Shilling finished 11th, followed by Connor Parkes, Zach Harrison, John Lavalle, Bobby Mercer, Don Yorke, Jimmy Hooper, Steve DeLeeuw, Jordan Morris, and Karlie Wilman.

Russ Couture was 21st, followed by Stephen Finnegan, Courtney Scott, Andy Wheller, Brian Gamble, and Nic Ramsay. Doug Wilman, Austyn Jennett, and Brnadon Steele failed to take the green flag due to issues in qualifying.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.