Flamboro Speedway

T.J. Marshall Goes From Back to Front in Canadian Vintage Modified Victory

T.J. Marshall may have started at the back, but he did not let them stop him en route to picking up the Operation Green Flag victory at Flamboro Speedway this past weekend.

In time trials, it’d be Mike Podd posting the quickest time with a lap of 16.564 seconds, ahead of T.J. Marshall (16.689), Jeremy Barton (16.753), Daryl Henwood (16.758), and Ron Easton (16.761). Max Wright qualified sixth, followed by Jerrid Morphy, Steve Murdoch, John Karley, Jason Bowden, Dale Lucas, Mike Klotz, Rodney Rutherford, Bill Pearsall, Jeff Kells, Joe Arsenault, Rick Willgar, Chance Isherwood, Amanda Stoner, Michael Kenny, and Wayde Thorne. Notably, Marshall would lose his starting position as the team addressed engine issues following time trials after the cars were impounded.

There’d be a six-car invert, putting Max Wright on the pole, to which he took advantage leading early ahead of Daryl Henwood. Jerrid Morphy would challenge Henwood for second on Lap 2, taking the spot a lap later, with Ron Easton and John Karley following suit to bump Henwood back to fifth ahead of Podd.

Morphy would track down Wright for the lead, and looked to make his move, though made contact with the left rear of the No. 25 and sent him around for a spin for the yellow flag at Lap 6. With 24 laps left until the break, Morphy led Podd, Karley, Easton, Jeremy Barton, T.J. Marshall, Rodney Rutherford, Mike Klotz, Steve Murdoch, Jason Bowden, Bill Pearsall, and Jeff Kells.

Morphy got a good restart to keep the top spot ahead of Podd and Karley, with Marshall moving into fourth ahead of Barton, Klotz, Rutherford, Dale Lucas, and Murdoch. However, the race’s second caution would come out on Lap 10 after Karley rode the turn one and two wall.

Podd was the man this time around, taking the top spot on the restart ahead of Morphy with Marshall up to third. The action got slowed again, though, with the third caution at Lap 12 after Isherwood spun Pearsall, with Kells and Rutherford getting tangled up together afterwards.


The restart saw a battle for the lead between Podd and Marshall, which once again did not go according to plan. Contact at Lap 15 would see Podd go around for the spin, and the fourth caution of the event.

Marshall got a good restart, leading the rest of the way en route to the halfway break ahead of Morphy, Klotz, Barton, Wright, Podd, Bowden, Pearsall, Murdoch, Rutherford, Rick Willigar, Lucas, and Henwood.

Following the break, things got back underway with Michael Kenny heading to the pits shortly after the green flag. At the front, Marshall continued to hold serve ahead of Morphy, Klotz, Barton, Wright, and Bowden. Wright continued his climb back forward, passing Barton for fourth on Lap 24.

Behind them, Podd ran seventh until he ran into overheating issues, sending him pit side. The caution then flew a lap later at Lap 27 for Bowden going around. With 13 laps to go, Marshall led Morphy, Klotz, Wright, Barton, Rutherford, Easton, Pearsall, and Lucas.

It’d be clean and green at the front, but the action did not last long as the sixth caution came out due to Easton spinning. Klotz, meanwhile, ran into mechanical issues at the same time.

The second attempt to restart the event went smoother, with Marshall holding serve ahead of Morphy, Wright, Barton, Rutherford, Lucas, Pearsall, Bowden, Murdoch, Easton, Wiligar, Isherwood, and Henwood.

Following their earlier contact, Wright would issue a slight bump and run to Morphy as he got by him for second on Lap 33, which enabled Barton to move up into third before the seventh caution for Murdoch going around in turns three and four.

The final restart went cleanly, with T.J. Marshall picking up the checkered flag ahead of Max Wright, Jerrid Morphy, Jeremy Barton, and Rodney Rutherford. Bill Pearsall finished sixth, followed by Jason Bowden, Rick Willigar, Dale Lucas, and Daryl Henwood. Steve Murdoch placed 11th, followed by Mike Klotz, Chance Isherwood, Mike Podd, Ron Easton, Jeff Kells, John Karley, Joe Arsenault, Amanda Stoner, and Michael Kenny. Wayde Thorne finished 21st, while Patrick Ruelens and Bill Stoner Sr. failed to take the green flag.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.