Ontario Legend Series

Matt Haufe Dominates En Route to Ontario Legends ACC Victory

Putting together a dominating performance, Matt Haufe continued his winning ways in the Ontario Legends Series with another victory on Sunday at Peterborough Speedway.

Following qualifying, Wes Cuthbertson started on pole ahead of Connor James, Miles Tyson, Kenny McNicol, Adam Cuthbertson, Paul Pierk, Parker Traves, Matt Haufe, Greg Rudzik, Cole McFadden, Dawson Drimmie, Zach Latimer, Dave Riopelle, Jeff Forsey, Andrew McFadden, Don Arnott, Joe Sherman, Andrew Massey, Thomas Dunn, Rick Eades, Cory Richardson, Glenn Morris, Rick Splawnyk, Shane Pollock, and the 95.

The drop of the green flag would see a battle between Wes Cuthbertson and James for the lead, as Tyson and McNicol ran side-by-side for third ahead of Adam Cuthbertson. Wes would take the top spot on Lap 3, with Tyson following through for second a lap later. Adam moved up into third on Lap 5 ahead of McNicol. Tyson would then take over the top spot on Lap 6, bringing Adam, McNicol, and Haufe through with him.

With eight laps on the board, Tyson led Adam Cuthbertson, McNicol, Haufe, Wes Cuthbertson, Traves, James, Rudzik, Riopelle, Cole McFadden, and the Pierk. The first caution came out on Lap 12 for Latimer making contact with the turn two wall, courtesy of Drimmie. Tyson would line up as the leader, with McNicol to his outside after Adam Cuthbertson chose to start inside in third.

The restart would see Wes Cuthbertson grab the lead ahead of Adam Cuthbertson, with Tyson and Haufe side-by-side for third. Adam would get alongside Wes for the top spot on Lap 13, completing the pass a lap later. Adam’s advantage wouldn’t last long, with Haufe getting alongside him and passing him for the top spot on Lap 15.

McNicol moved into second a lap later ahead of Tyson, Rudzik, James, Adam Cuthbertson, Traves, Cole McFadden, Riopelle, and Wes Cuthbertson. Riopelle would get alongside McFadden for eighth on Lap 19, but was unable to complete the pass.

Instead, Traves passed Adam Cuthbertson for sixth a lap later, with McFadden receiving the black flag. This would allow Riopelle to move up into eighth ahead of Wes Cuthbertson, Forsey, Pierk, Drimmie, Massey, and Pollock. Riopelle would  attempt to get by Adam for seventh on Lap 30, but was unable to complete the pass.

Traves continued to move forward, running fourth as of Lap 37, with James by Rudzik for fifth a lap later. Morris would not have a good ending to his feature, going around on the last lap.

Matt Haufe picked up the win ahead of Kenny McNicol, Miles Tyson, Parker Traves, and Connor James. Greg Rudzik finished sixth, followed by Adam Cuthbertson, Dave Riopelle, and Wes Cuthbertson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.