Can-Am Midgets

Darren Dryden Caps off Championship Campaign with Velocity Sweep

2019 T.Q. Can-Am Midget Champion Darren Dryden made the most of the final night of racing this season, sweeping the Velocity 250 features at Sunset Speedway on Saturday.

Dominique Smith would hold the early lead, with Brody Rickwood and Brandon Hauck side-by-side for second. Hauck got the spot on Lap 2 ahead of Rickwood and Steve Murdock. Murdock then got alongside Rickwood for third on Lap 3, completing the pass a lap later, bringing Darren Dryden through with him.

Darren Dryden did not stop there, passing Murdock for third on Lap 5. Rickwood ran fifth behind them ahead of Ryan Fraser, Cory Whittam, and the 11.

Hauck would track down Smith for the lead, getting alongside him on Lap 7, taking the top spot a lap later. Dryden continued to run third ahead of Murdock, Fraser, Rickwood, Whittam, Daniel Hawn, and the 11. Dryden would continue climbing, though, as he passed Smith for second on Lap 11.

With 13 laps on the board, Hauck led ahead of Dryden, Smith, Murdock, Fraser and Rickwood, with Hawn and Whittam side-by-side for seventh. Hawn got the spot on Lap 16 ahead of Whittam, with the 11 still in ninth ahead of Paul Harrison, Bob Bailey, Luc Munsie, and the 94x. Hawn continued his climb forward, getting alongside Rickwood on Lap 19 for sixth, completing the pass a lap later.

The issues began to strike drivers around this point, with both Whittam and Munsie pulling off with mechanical issues. The caution then flew with two laps to go for the 11 going around.

Darren Dryden would get a good restart, passing Brandon Hauck en route to the victory. Dominique Smith finished third, followed by Steve Murdock and Ryan Fraser. Daniel Hawn finished sixth, followed by Brody Rickwood, the 11, Bob Bailey, Paul Harrison, and the 94x.

The second feature would see Brody Rickwood start pole ahead of Daniel Hawn, Ryan Fraser, Steve Murdock, Dominique Smith, Brandon Hauck, Darren Dryden, the 11, Bob Bailey, Paul Harrison, the 94x, and Luc Munsie.

Rickwood would jump out to the early lead ahead of Murdock and Fraser, with Murdock taking the top spot on Lap 2. Behind the leaders, Dryden and Smith ran side-by-side for fourth ahead of Hauck. Fraser moved up into second on Lap 4, bringing Dryden through with him. Dryden then got alongside Fraser on Lap 5, taking the second spot a lap later.

Fraser now ran third ahead of Rickwood, with Smith and Hauck side-by-side for fifth ahead of Hawn. Smith got the spot on Lap 8, with Hawn looking to follow her through. Hawn was unable to, remaining seventh ahead of the 11. Smith was then able to get alongside Rickwood for fourth on Lap 10, taking the spot a lap later, with Hauck following her through. Rickwood now ran sixth ahead of Hawn, the 11, Harrison, and Bailey.

At the front of the field, Dryden would track down Murdock for the lead, taking over the spot on Lap 16. Murdock now ran second ahead of Fraser, Smith, Hauck, Rickwood, Hawn, the 11, and Harrison. Hawn would then get by Rickwood for sixth on Lap 19. The battle for fourth sparked up again, with Hauck alongside Smith for the spot with four laps to go.

Darren Dryden picked up the win ahead of Steve Murdock, Ryan Fraser, Dominique Smith, and Brandon Hauck. Daniel Hawn finished sixth, followed by Brody Rickwood.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.