Billy Alderson Jr. Makes Late-Race Pass for OSCAAR Hot Rod Victory

INNISFIL, Ontario — Battling up front throughout the feature, Billy Alderson Jr. made the late race pass to score the victory in the Knightworks Design, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd OSCAAR Hot Rod Velocity 250 feature presented by Digital Obsession at Sunset Speedway.

The weekend did not start off cleanly, with Dustin Kellar going around in turn one. A second caution would then follow, after Dalen Martin spun Brandon Robertson. Adrian Foster picked up the checkered flag ahead of Jerry Broom, Bill Parsons, Nick Clarke, Robertson, Kellar, and Martin.

Tyler Hawn won the second heat ahead of Billy Alderson Jr., Ed Bowlby, Jeremy McLean, Robert Robinson, Dan Rothwell, and Ryan Cowan.

Steve Book won the third heat ahead of Paul Senior, Rob Wark, Mike Wietzes, Sean Walker, Donny Beatty, and Derek Henderson.

Billy Alderson Jr. won the fourth heat ahead of Foster, Bowlby, Clarke, Parsons, Kellar, and Cowan.

Tyler Hawn went for the daily double ahead of Wietzes, Book, Robinson, McLean, Beatty, and Rothwell.

The sixth heat would feature some contact, with Martin taking Wark up the wall, causing contact between the pair. Jerry Broom picked up the win ahead of Senior, Henderson, Walker, Martin, Robertson, and Wark.

Come feature time, Tyler Hawn started pole ahead of Steve Book, Ed Bowlby, Billy Alderson Jr., Mike Wietzes, Paul Senior, Jerry Broom, Adrian Foster, Bill Parsons, Nick Clarke, Robert Robinson, Jeremy McLean, Sean Walker, Rob Wark, Derek Henderson, Brandon Robertson, Dalen Martin, Dustin Kellar, Donny Beatty, Ryan Cowan, and Dan Rothwell.

The feature would not start off smoothly, with a caution on Lap 3 for debris in turn three.

The restart would go well, with Hawn grabbing the early advantage ahead of Alderson Jr., Book and Foster, as Broom and Wietzes battled for fifth ahead of Bowlby, Senior, Parsons, and Clarke. Foster would get alongside Book for third on Lap 9, completing the pass a lap later. Broom would then get alongside Book next, looking to follow through.

Behind them, Senior ran sixth ahead of Bowlby, as Wietzes and Wark ran side-by-side for eighth. Bowlby then got alongside Senior on Lap 13, but was unable to complete the pass as Wietzes took over eighth.

Further up towards the front, Broom would take over fourth on Lap 15 ahead of Book, Senior, Bowlby, Martin, and Wietzes. Alderson would then get hung up in lap traffic behind Kellar, allowing both Foster and Broom to get by him for second and third, respectively. Book continued to run for fifth ahead of Senior, Bowlby and Martin, as Wietzes and Clarke battled for ninth.

With 20 laps on the board, Hawn continued to lead ahead of Broom, Foster, Alderson Jr., Book, Senior, Bowlby and Martin as the battle for ninth continued. Clarke would clear Wietzes for the spot on Lap 24, with the caution coming out a lap later for debris.

The first attempt at a restart produced the third caution, with Senior getting sideways off of turn four while three-wide with Book and Martin, resulting in Senior coming back across the track, collecting Clarke and Robinson in the process.

The second attempt would go smoother, with Foster taking over the top spot ahead of Hawn and Alderson Jr. Alderson Jr. would then get alongside Hawn for second on Lap 27, easily taking the spot. He then got alongside Foster for the lead a lap later, taking over the top spot on Lap 29. Foster would get real sideways off of turn two, allowing both Hawn and Broom by, as they battled for second.

Their battle for position would take them all the way down to three laps to go in the feature, when the fourth caution came out for Senior and Kellar going around in turn four.

Billy Alderson Jr. got a good restart, leading the rest of the way en route to victory ahead of Jerry Broom, Tyler Hawn, Adrian Foster, and Ed Bowlby. Bob Parsons finished sixth, followed by Donny Beatty, Dalen Martin, Steve Book, and Mike Wietzes. Derek Henderson finished 11th, followed by Brandon Robertson, Dustin Kellar, Paul Senior, Robert Robinson, Nick Clarke, Jeremy McLean, Ryan Cowan, Dan Rothwell, Sean Walker, and Rob Wark.

The Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rods are back in action at Flamboro Speedway on Sunday, October 6.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at http://www.oscaar.ca. Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

OSCAAR’s 2019 racing season is supported by several dedicated partners including Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Knightworks Design, Living Lighting Canada, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.