Andy Kamrath Sweeps OSCAAR Modified Iron Man 72 at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario —Running up front all weekend long, Andy Kamrath swept the pair of 36-lap features for the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd OSCAAR Modified Iron Man 72 presented by Quaker State and Gary Elliott Motorsports.

Dale Reinhart won the first heat ahead of Brad Pearsall, Luke Gignac, Jase Cornell, and Gary Elliott.

A.J. Emms won the second heat ahead of Anthony DiBello, Kelly Balson, Norman Newman, Bob Franks, and Bryan Batty.

Andy Kamrath won the third heat ahead of Jason Keen, Ken Hayward, Wally Wilson, Mike Hearty, and Craig Downey.

Anthony DiBello won the fourth heat ahead of Emms, Elliott, Newman, Cornell, and Gignac.

Jason Keen won the fifth heat ahead of Balson, Hearty, Wilson, Franks, and Batty.

Andy Kamrath went for the daily double ahead of Pearsall, Reinhart, Chris Milwain, Hayward, and Downey.

For the first 36-lap feature, A.J. Emms started pole ahead of Kelly Balson, Wally Wilson, Andy Kamrath, Jason Keen, Bob Franks, Brad Pearsall, Anthony DiBello, Dale Reinhart, Mike Hearty, Norman Newman, Gary Elliott, Ken Hayward, Luke Gignac, Jase Cornell, Chris Milwain, Craig Downey, and Bryan Batty.

Emms and Balson would battle for the top spot off the drop of the green flag ahead of Kamrath, Pearsall, Reinhart, Keen, Newman, and DiBello, with Wilson and Hayward side-by-side for ninth, as Elliott battled Gignac for 11th ahead of Hearty. Emms would take the top spot on Lap 5, bringing Kamrath through with him as Balson slipped back to third ahead of Pearsall and Keen.

Kamrath would then get alongside Emms for the lead on Lap 7, taking the top spot a lap later. Emms now ran second ahead of Balson, Pearsall, Keen, DiBello, Reinhart, and Newman as Hayward and Elliott battled for ninth ahead of Hearty, Gignac, and Cornell. DiBello would get alongside Keen for fifth on Lap 12, taking the spot two laps later.

Keen now ran sixth ahead of Newman, Reinhart, Elliott, and Hearty. Hearty would get alongside Elliott for ninth on Lap 16, with Gignac and Milwain side-by-side for 11th. Hearty got the ninth spot a lap later, with Gignac and Milwain continuing to battle ahead of Cornell, Downey, and Franks. Milwain would clear Gignac for 11th on Lap 20.

With 22 laps on the board, Kamrath continued to lead with Balson getting by Emms for second. DiBello ran fourth ahead of Pearsall and Keen. Keen would get alongside Pearsall for fifth on Lap 24, completing the pass a couple laps later. Newman would then follow suit on Lap 29 to take over sixth. Meanwhile, Milwain headed pit side on Lap 30 with a mechanical issue.

Andy Kamrath picked up the win ahead of Kelly Balson, A.J. Emms, Anthony DiBello, and Norman Newman. Jason Keen finished sixth, followed by Brad Pearsall, Dale Reinhart, Mike Hearty, and Gary Elliott. Craig Downey finished 11th, followed by Luke Gignac, Jase Cornell, Bob Franks, Ken Hayward, Wally Wilson, Bryan Batty, and Chris Milwain.

In the second feature on Sunday night, Norman Newman started pole ahead of Anthony DiBello, A.J. Emms, Kelly Balson, Andy Kamrath, Jason Keen, Brad Pearsall, Dale Reinhart, Mike Hearty, Gary Elliott, Craig Downey, Luke Gignac, Jase Cornell, Bob Franks, Ken Hayward, Wally Wilson, and Bryan Batty.

Anthony DiBello grabbed the early lead, with Balson, Emms and Kamrath three-wide for second. Emms got the spot on Lap 2 ahead of Kamrath, Balson, Newman and Pearsall, as Keen and Elliott battled for seventh. Keen got the spot on Lap 5 ahead of Elliott, with Reinhart, Cornell, Hearty, Downey, Hayward, Franks, and Gignac rounding out the field.

Emms would take over the top spot on Lap 7, bringing Kamrath and Balson through with him to bump DiBello back to fourth ahead of Newman, Pearsall, and Keen. Over the next two laps, both Gignac and Wilson would head into the pits, done for the event with separate issues.

On-track, Elliott ran eighth as of Lap 9 ahead of Reinhart, Cornell, Hearty, Downey, Hayward, and Franks, with Batty heading down pit road on Lap 12 with a problem. Cornell would get alongside Reinhart for ninth on Lap 13, completing the pass two laps later.

With 19 laps on the board, Kamrath would take over the top spot ahead of Emms and Balson, with DiBello continuing to run fourth ahead of Newman, Pearsall, Keen, Elliott, and Cornell. The race’s first caution would come out on Lap 24 for Cornell going around.

The restart would see a battle for the lead between Kamrath and Emms, as DiBello moved up into third ahead of Balson, Newman, Pearsall, Keen, Elliott, Reinhart, and Downey. Kamrath took sole procession of the lead back on Lap 27, with Elliott passing Keen for seventh before the race’s second caution on Lap 32 for DiBello spinning Balson.

Kamrath got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Emms and DiBello, as Newman and Pearsall battled for fourth. It would go well, with contact off of turn four resulting in Pearsall going around, collecting Reinhart, Downey, and Hearty.

Andy Kamrath got a good restart, leading the final three laps en route to victory ahead of Anthony DiBello, A.J. Emms, Gary Elliott, and Jason Keen. Kelly Balson made his way back up to finish sixth, followed by Jase Cornell, Ken Hayward, Dale Reinhart, and Mike Hearty. Bob Franks finished 11th, followed by Norman Newman, Brad Pearsall, Craig Downey, Bryan Batty, Wally Wilson, and Luke Gignac.

The next race for the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds is at Flamboro Speedway on Sunday, October 6, presented by Touchwood Cabinets.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at http://www.oscaar.ca. Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

OSCAAR’s 2019 racing season is supported by several dedicated partners including Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Knightworks Design, Living Lighting Canada, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.