mini stocks

Andy Kamrath Dominates Velocity 250 Mini Stock Feature

Taking the lead in the early stages, Andy Kamrath did not look back en route to winning the G.D. Coates Used Car Superstore Mini Stock Velocity 250 feature at Sunset Speedway.

The first heat started off with a caution for Darrin Thring going for a quick spin off of turn two. Eric Yorke picked up the win ahead of Cory Young, Craig Kamrath, Allan Lankin, Lisa DeLeeuw, Thring, and Peter Wakeling.

Warren Paxton won the second heat ahead of Andy Kamrath, Jason Tolton, Samantha Shaw, Terry Woodley, Johnny Morrison, and Melissa Bullen.

Eric Yorke went for the daily double ahead of Young, Lankin, Kamrath, DeLeeuw, Thring, and Wakeling.

Andy Kamrath won the fourth heat ahead of Shaw, Paxton, Tolton, Woodley, Morrison, and Bullen.

Come feature time, Jason Tolton started pole ahead of Samantha Shaw, Cory Young, Warren Paxton, Andy Kamrath, Eric Yorke, Craig Kamrath, Allan Lankin, Lisa DeLeeuw, Terry Woodley, Johnny Morrison, Melissa Bullen, Peter Wakeling, Brandon Feeney, Pat MacDonald, Erik Dalla Riva, Andrea Parsons, Shawn Taylor, and Kyle D’Antimo.

The drop of the green would see a battle for the lead between Tolton and Shaw, with Kamrath and Paxton side-by-side for third ahead of Yorke. Shaw would get the lead on Lap 3, with Kamrath alongside Tolton for second. Kamrath got the spot on Lap 3, with Yorke getting alongside Tolton next.

Andy Kamrath would then get alongside Shaw for the top spot on Lap 6, completing the pass for the lead a lap later. Yorke moved up into third ahead of Paxton, Young, Tolton, Craig Kamrath, Woodley, and Dalla Riva. Yorke would then get alongside Shaw for second, completing the pass on Lap 10.

Shaw now ran third ahead of Paxton, Young, Tolton, Craig Kamrath, Woodley, Dalla Riva, Morrison, Bullen, DeLeeuw, and Lankin. Taylor would then get alongside Lankin for 13th on Lap 14, with Dalla Riva alongside Woodley for eighth a lap later. Dalla Riva took the spot on Lap 16, with Morrison continuing to run 10th.

Dalla Riva continued his climb forward, getting alongside Kamrath for seventh on Lap 17, completing the pass a lap later. Kamrath now ran eighth ahead of Woodley and Morrison, with Bullen and DeLeeuw side-by-side for 11th ahead of Taylor. Woodley would then get alongside Kamrath for eighth on Lap 21.

With 22 laps on the board, Andy Kamrath led Yorke, Shaw, Paxton, Young, and Tolton. Paxton would get alongside Shaw for third on Lap 24, thought was unable to complete the pass. He would try again on Lap 26, but had to slip back in line as they went behind the lap car of Peter Wakeling.

Young solidly ran fifth ahead of Tolton, Dalla Riva, Craig Kamrath, Woodley, Morrison, and Lankin. Woodley would get alongside Kamrath for eighth on Lap 32, with Paxton back alongside Shaw with two laps to go for third.

Andy Kamrath picked up the win ahead of Eric Yorke, Samantha Shaw, Warren Paxton, and Cory Young. Jason Tolton finished sixth, followed by Erik Dalla Riva, Johnny Morrison, Craig Kamrath, and Terry Woodley. Melissa Bullen finished 11th, followed by Lisa DeLeeuw, Shawn Taylor, Allan Lankin, Kyle D’Antimo, Peter Wakeling, and Charlie Smith.

Following the event, the No. 2 of Morrison was disqualified, thus moving up everybody a position whom finished ninth on back.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.