Jukasa Speedway

Steve Book Scores OSCAAR Hot Rod Victory at Jukasa

HAGERSVILLE, Ontario — Surviving the chaos that ensued, Steve Book would score the victory in the Knightsworks Design, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd OSCAAR Hot Rod feature at Jukasa Motor Speedway presented by Engines From Hal.

Paul Senior won the first heat ahead of Dalen Martin, Jesse Kennedy, Douglas Fischer, and Jeremy McLean. Brandon Robertson finished sixth, followed by Ryan Cowen and Steve Mayhew.

Jerry Broom won the second heat ahead of Steve Book, Nick Clarke, Dave Bailey, and Leroy Robinson. Bob Parsons finished sixth, followed by Ed Bowlby, and Brian McLean.

Come feature time, Book and Broom made up the front row ahead of Senior, Bailey, Martin, Fischer, Kennedy, Clarke, Jeremy McLean, Robinson, Parsons, Robertson, Brian McLean, Bowlby, Cowen, Mayhew, and Tyler Hawn. Hawn missed his qualifying heat due to issues before the green flag.

The action started off on the wrong foot right away, with Fischer making contact with the wall on the opening lap. Everybody was able to continue without issue as Broom jumped out to the early lead ahead of Senior, Martin, Kennedy, and Clarke.

Senior would get alongside Book for second on Lap 4, taking the spot a lap later. Martin continued to run fourth ahead of Kennedy, Clarke, Jeremy McLean, Bailey, and Robertson. There was action through the field, though, with Parsons three-wide with Hawn and Robinson for 10th on Lap 8. Hawn got the spot a lap later, with Robinson running 11th ahead of Parsons. Hawn continued to move forward, passing Bailey for ninth on Lap 11.

Through the middle portion of the feature, the field spread out with a couple small battles for position. It appeared the 25-lap feature would run green to the end, until Robinson went around for a spin in turn four to bring out the caution on Lap 20.

The restart with five laps to go saw a battle for the lead between Broom and Senior, with the pair making contact on the backstretch. Broom would go up into the outside backstretch wall, with Senior coming down across the track. The drivers behind them tried to avoid the incident, but unfortunately several drivers would get collected with damage. The list included Martin, Bailey, Parsons, Robinson, and Hawn.

Steve Book would inherit the top spot in missing the action, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory. Jesse Kennedy made the late race pass to secure second in his OSCAAR Hot Rod debut ahead of Nick Clarke. Jeremy McLean and Brandon Robertson rounded out the top-five.

Paul Senior fixed his damage, returning to the track to finish sixth ahead of Ryan Cowen, Jerry Broom, Dalen Martin and Bob Parsons. Tyler Hawn, who currently leads the series standings, finished 11th, followed by Dave Bailey, Leroy Robinson, Douglas Fischer, Ed Bowlby, Steve Mayhew, and Brian McLean.

The Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rods will be back in action on September 21 and 22 at Sunset Speedway, with the Sunday action presented by Digital Obsession.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at http://www.oscaar.ca. Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

OSCAAR’s 2019 racing season is supported by several dedicated partners including Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Knightworks Design, Living Lighting Canada, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.