Ontario Legend Series

Nick Ledson Crowned 2019 Canadian Legends Nationals Champion

He may have experienced the worst luck through Friday’s practice and Saturday’s qualifying with mechanical issues, but everything worked itself out in time for him to be crowned the 2019 Canadian Legends National Champion.

Following Saturday’s qualifying at Sunset Speedway, Alex McCollum started pole and was able to break out into the early lead, ahead of Adam Cuthbertson and D.J Canipe. However, the caution came out on Lap 2 for an incident in turn one involving Zach Latimer and Chris Massey.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between McCollum and Cuthbertson, with McCollum grabbing the top spot on Lap 3. Cuthbertson ran second, with Kevin Foisy up to third ahead of Canipe, as Parker Traves and Joe Adams ran side-by-side for fifth, as Andre Fiorini battled Mike Alcaro for seventh.

The seventh lap saw a big shuffle up front. Although McCollum held onto the lead, it’d be Canipe moving up into second ahead of Foisy, with Traves and Fiorini taking Cuthbertson three-wide for fourth. Traves got the spot on Lap 8, with Foisy challenging Canipe for second a lap later. Foisy was unable to complete the pass, though, dropping back line.

Parker Traves continued to run fourth ahead of Alcaro, Fiorini, and Miles Tyson, with Adams three-wide with Kenny McNicol and Nick Ledson for eighth. The second caution then came out on Lap 13 for Shane Pollock going around in turn two. With 18 laps to go, McCollum led Foisy, Canipe, Traves, Alcaro, Tyson, Fiorini, McNicol, Cuthbertson, Ledson, and Adams.

McCollum would get a good restart with Alcaro, Canipe, and Foisy three-wide for second. Alcaro would get second on Lap 14 ahead of Canipe, with Traves by Foisy for fourth. Behind them, McNicol and Fiorini ran side-by-side for sixth, with Tyson and Ledson side-by-side for eighth ahead of Cuthbertson.

Fiorini was able to get sixth on Lap 17, with the third yellow coming out a lap after for Cory Richardson going around. With 13 laps to go, McCollum led Alcaro, Canipe, Traves, Foisy, Fiorini, McNicol, Tyson, Ledson, Cuthbertson, Adams, Greg Rudzik, Robin Jongen, Dawson Drimmie, and Rob MacDonnell. Though with the legends choosing their lanes for the restart, the top six remained the same, with Ledson moving up to seventh ahead of Tyson and Adams.

Alcaro grabbed the lead on the restart ahead of McCollum and Canipe, with the fourth caution coming out two laps later on Lap 20 for a multi-car incident in turn two involving McNicol, Adams, Rudzik, Drimmie, MacDonnell, Traves, and Andrew Massey. On the same lap, Latimer would go around in turn four. With 11 laps to go, Alcaro led McCollum, Canipe, Fiorini, Foisy, Ledson, Tyson, Jongen, Adam Cuthbertson, and Wes Cuthbertson.

Alcaro got the lead on the restart, with McCollum and Canipe side-by-side for second. McCollum got the spot on Lap 22, with Fiorini following him through a lap later. Canipe now ran fourth ahead of Ledson, Foisy, Tyson, and Jongen. Ledson then got alongside Canipe on Lap 25, but the fifth caution came out for McNicol spinning in turn two.

Alcaro got another good restart ahead of McCollum, with Ledson and Fiorini side-by-side for third. Fiorini initially got the spot with four laps to go, but Ledson would get right back alongside a lap later as Canipe looked for a way through. Foisy ran sixth ahead of Tyson, with Adam Cuthbertson and Jongen side-by-side for eighth.

Mike Alcaro led the rest of the way en route to winning the first A-main ahead of Alex McCollum, Nick Ledson, D.J Canipe, and Andre Fiorini. Kevin Foisy finished sixth, followed by Miles Tyson, Adam Cuthbertson, Robin Jongen, and Parker Traves.

Paul Pierik finished 11th, followed by Kenny McNicol Jr., Wesley Cuthbertson, Rob MacDonnell, Cory Richardson, Howard Bentley, Zach Latimer, Joe Sherman, Glenn Morris, and Chris Massey. Joe Adams finished 21st, followed by Greg Rudzik, Dawson Drimmie, Andrew Massey, and Shane Pollock.

Per the format for the Nationals, a b-main would be run to set the back half of the field for the second feature. Greg Rudzik would edge out Kenny McNicol for the win ahead of Perik, Pollock, MacDonnell, Andrew Massey, Wesley Cuthbertson, Richardson, Bentley, Morris, Latimer, Sherman, and Chris Massey.

Come time for the second feature, Andre Fiorini started pole ahead of Alex McCollum, Kevin Foisy, Adam Cuthbertson, Miles Tyson, Robin Jongen, Parker Traves, Nick Ledson, D.J Canipe, Mike Alcaro, Greg Rudzik, Kenny McNicol, Paul Perik, Rob MacDonnell, Andrew Massey, Wesley Cuthbertson, Cory Richardson, Glenn Morris, Zach Latimer, Joe Sherman, Chris Massey, Joe Adams, Dawson Drimmie, and Howard Bentley.

Alex McCollum grabbed the initial lead ahead of Fiorini, Foisy, Tyson, Ledson, and Alcaro, as Adam Cuthbertson and McNicol battled for seventh. Cuthbertson got the spot, with Jongen looking to follow him through. Behind them, Canipe ran 10th, as Traves and Rudzik battled for 11th.

Ledson continued to move forward, passing Tyson for fourth on Lap 6, bringing Alcaro through with him. Tyson now ran sixth ahead of Cuthbertson, McNicol, Canipe, and Ruzik, as Jongen battled Traves for 11th.

With nine laps on the board, McCollum continued to lead ahead of Fiorini, Foisy, Ledson, Alcaro, and Tyson. Alcaro would challenge Ledson for fourth on Lap 11, but was unable to complete the pass. He’d try again on Lap 13, accomplishing the feat, but the caution came out a lap later for Latimer and Morris getting together in turn two.

Andre Fiorini would get a good restart to grab the lead, with Alcaro getting alongside McCollum for second. The pair would make contact, resulting in Alcaro going around, and the second caution on Lap 15.

Fiorini got another good restart, with Tyson now second ahead of Foisy. Ledson would get alongside Foisy for third on Lap 16, completing the pass before the caution came out on Lap 18 for Perik and Pollock tangling in turns three and four.

Fiorini got another good restart, with Ledson getting by Tyson for second before the caution came out on Lap 19 for McNicol going around.

With rain beginning to fall, and getting heavier, the race would be called. Andre Fiorini would initially be declared the winner, but failed post-race technical inspection. As a result, Nick Ledson was credited with the victory ahead of Miles Tyson, Kevin Foisy, D.J. Canipe, and Adam Cuthbertson. Greg Rudzik finished sixth, followed by Kenny McNicol Jr., Parker Traves, Robin Jongen, and Mike Alcaro.

Joe Adams finished 11th, followed by Rob MacDonnell, Dawson Drimmie, Andrew Massey, Alex McCollum, Cory Richardson, Zach Latimer, Paul Pierik, Shane Pollock, and Howard Bentley. Joe Sherman finished 21st, followed by Chris Massey, Glenn Morris, and Wesley Cuthbertson.

As a result of finishing third and first in the pair of features, Nick Ledson was crowned the 2019 Canadian Legends National Champion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.