Can-Am Midgets

Darren Dryden Continues Winning Ways at Sauble Speedway

The winning continues for Darren Dryden, as he won the T.Q. Can-Am Midget feature on Sunday at Sauble Speedway.

Cassidy March started pole, followed by Paul Harrison, Daniel Hawn, Cory Whittam, Daniel Bois, Steve Murdock, Ryan Fraser, Dominique Smith, David Miller, Darren Dryden, Brandon Hauck, Luc Munsie, Brody Rickwood, and David Mathers.

March would grab the initial advantage with Hawn moving up into second ahead of Bois and Fraser, as Miller, Harrison and Whittam went three-wide for fifth. Hawn would get alongside March for the lead on Lap 3, taking the top spot a lap later. Bois moved into second on Lap 5, with Fraser up to third a lap later ahead of March and Harrison.

The shuffling continued, with Whittam moving into the top-five on Lap 7, ahead of Miller, Dryden, and March, as Murdock and Harrison battled side-by-side. The caution would then come out on Lap 8 for Mathers spinning in turn two. With 28 laps to go, Hawn led Bois, Fraser, March, Whittam, Miller, Dryden, Hauck, Murdock, and Harrison.

The restart would not go as Bois imagined, with him going around for the spin in turn two on Lap 9 for the second caution.

The second attempt went smoothly, with Fraser moving into the lead ahead of Dryden, with Hawn and Miller side-by-side for third. Dryden would then take over the top spot on Lap 10 ahead of Fraser, Hawn, Hauck, Miller, March and Murdock. Murdock then got by March for sixth on Lap 12, as Smith and Whittam battled for eighth. Smith got the spot a lap later, with Whittam and Munsie rounding out the top-10.

The battles continued with Miller challenging Hauck for fourth on Lap 14, but unable to complete the pass. Murdock would then get by Miller for fifth on Lap 16, with Smith up to seventh ahead of Whittam, March, and Bois.

Hauck continued to move forward, passing Hawn for third on Lap 18, followed by a pass on Fraser for second on Lap 21. Murdock also moved forward, passing Hawn for fourth a lap later.

Darren Dryden picked up the win ahead of Brandon Hauck, Ryan Fraser, Steve Murdock, and Daniel Hawn. David Miller finished sixth, followed by Dominique Smith, Cory Whittam, Daniel Bois, and Cassidy March. Brandon Harrison finished 11th, followed by Luc Munsie, Brody Rickwood, and David Mathers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.