Jukasa Speedway

Brandon Watson Out-Duels Treyten Lapcevich to Victory Lane in APC Event

Treyten Lapcevich tried to get by Brandon Watson on multiple occasions on Thursday night, but it would not be enough with Watson victorious in the APC Auto Parts United Late Models of Ontario Tour 100-lap feature at Jukasa Motor Speedway.

Off the drop of the green flag, Dale Shaw grabbed the initial lead ahead of Danny Benedict, with Jordan Lawrence and J.R. Fitzpatrick side-by-side for third. Lawrence got the spot on Lap 3 ahead of Fitzpatrick and Jake Sheridan, with Ryan Kimball and Shae Gemmell side-by-side for sixth ahead of Brandon Watson. Treyten Lapcevich would challenge Watson for eighth on Lap 5, with Sheridan challenging Fitzpatrick a lap later.

Sheridan moved into fourth on Lap 7 ahead of Fitzpatrick, Gemmell, Watson, Jordan Howse, and Lapcevich. At the front of the field, the shuffling continued with Lawrence moving into second ahead of Benedict, Sheridan and Gemmell, as Watson challenged Fitzpatrick.

Watson moved into the sixth on Lap 11, just before the caution came out for Shawn McGlynn, Taylor Holdaway, and Blair Wickett going around in turns three and four. With 89 laps to go, Shaw led Lawrence, Benedict, Sheridan, Gemmell, Watson, Fitzpatrick, Howse, Lapcevich, Billy Schwartzenburg, Darrell Lake, and Kimball.

Shaw would get a good restart to maintain the lead ahead of Lawrence with Sheridan moving into third ahead of Watson, Howse and Benedict. Gemmell would then challenge Benedict for sixth on Lap 13 ahead of Lapcevich, with Watson getting alongside Sheridan a lap later. Watson then moved into third on Lap 15 ahead of Sheridan, Howse, and Gemmell, as both Holdaway and Schwartzenburg pulled behind the wall with problems.

With 16 laps on the board, Shaw led Lawrence and Watson, with Sheridan and Howse side-by-side for fourth ahead of Gemmell, Lapcevich, and Shane Maginnis. Sheridan moved into fourth on Lap 19, bringing Gemmell and Lapcevich through with him.

Gemmell then took over fourth two laps later, with Lapcevich and Howse both getting by Sheridan before the caution came out on Lap 22 for Maginnis wrecking in turn four. With 79 laps to go, Shaw led Watson, Lawrence, Gemmell, Lapcevich, Howse, Sheridan, Fitzpatrick, Benedict, Kimball, Lane Zardo, Lake, Brandon Verhoeven, and Tim Norris.

The first restart would not go smoothly, as Shaw was unable to get a good restart. The third caution would be thrown, re-racking the field for a re-try. The second restart would see Shaw have issues once again, heading into the pits on Lap 24 with a flat tire.

Meanwhile, Jordan Lawrence took advantage of the problems to take over the top spot ahead of Watson, Gemmell, Lapcevich, Sheridan, Howse, Benedict, Fitzpatrick, and Zardo. Watson would get by Lawrence for the lead, but the caution came out a lap later on Lap 27 for Paighton Jacobs going around. Going back a lap later, Lawrence would restart as the leader ahead of Watson, Gemmell, Lapcevich, Sheridan, Howse, Benedict, Fitzpatrick, Zardo, Kimball, and Lake.

Brandon Watson got a good restart to take over the lead ahead of Gemmell, with Lapcevich alongside Lawrence for third. Lapcevich moved into third on Lap 29, with Howse following him through to bump Lawrence back to fifth. Sheridan ran sixth ahead of Fitzpatrick, Benedict, Kimball, Zardo, Lake, Norris, and Matt Pritiko, with Hudson Nagy and Josh Stade side-by-side for 14th.

Josh Stade moved into the 14th spot on Lap 34 ahead of Nagy and Blair Wickett, with Wickett passing Nagy two laps later as Verhoeven rounded out the top-16. Stade would then get alongside Pritiko for 13th on Lap 37.

With 38 laps on the board, Watson continued to lead ahead of Gemmell, Lapcevich, Howse, Lawrence, and Sheridan. Lawrence would then get alongside Howse on Lap 40, completing the pass a lap later. The fourth caution then came out on Lap 43 for Gord Shepherd spinning Verhoeven. With 59 laps to go, Watson led Lapcevich, Gemmell, Lawrence, Sheridan, Fitzpatrick, Benedict, Kimball, Zardo, Norris, Stade, Wickett, and Shaw.

Watson got a good restart, keeping the lead ahead of Lapcevich, Gemmell, Lawrence, Fitzpatrick, Kimball, Sheridan, Benedict, Norris and Wickett, as Shaw got alongside Zardo for 11th on Lap 47. Shaw would take the spot a lap later ahead of Zardo, Pritiko, Stade, Shawn Chenoweth, Nagy, and Ron Beauchamp Jr. as Howse and Shepherd battled for 18th.

Shaw would continue his march forward, passing Wickett to get back into the top-10 on lap 33. He would then get by Norris for ninth on Lap 55, bringing Wickett through with him. Shaw then passed Benedict for eighth two laps later, followed by a pass on Sheridan for seventh, and a pass on Kimball to move into sixth on Lap 59. Kimball now ran seventh ahead of Sheridan, with Benedict and Wickett side-by-side for ninth. Wickett was able to keep the spot, while Norris continued to run 11th.

As Watson maneuvered his way through lap traffic, it would allow Lapcevich to close the gap right up to the back bumper of the No. 9 Late Model. Lapcevich would then get alongside Watson for the lead on Lap 62, though was unable to complete the pass as he had to get back in line to get by the lap traffic. Gemmell continued to run third ahead of Fitzpatrick, Shaw, Lawrence, and Kimball.

With 67 laps on the board, Lapcevich would once again challenge Watson for the lead, though Watson once again used the lap traffic to keep the top spot. Gemmell continued to run third ahead of Fitzpatrick, Shaw, Lawrence, and Kimball. Shaw’s climb back to the front continued, as he passed Fitzpatrick to move up into fourth with 28 laps to go.

Through the final 25 laps, Lapcevich continued to challenge Watson for the top spot, though they would keep encountering lap traffic. As a result, Brandon Watson scored the victory ahead of Treyten Lapcevich. Dale Shaw would make the pass on Shae Gemmell to finish third, with J.R. Fitzpatrick rounding out the top-five.

Ryan Kimball finished sixth ahead of Jake Sheridan, Blair Wickett, Danny Benedict and Jordan Lawrence. Josh Stade finished 11th, followed by Tim Norris, Shawn Chenoweth, Jordan Howse, Matt Pritiko, Gord Shepherd, Lane Zardo, Ron Beauchamp Jr., Hudson Nagy, and Shawn McGlynn.

Andrew Gresel finished 21st, followed by Brandon Verhoeven, Kenny Wallace, Tom Gibbons, Patrick Freel, Darrell Lake, Matt Box, Tyler Di Venanzo, JR Farrelly, Paighton Jacobs, Shane Maginnis, Trevor Monaghan, Taylor Holdaway, Billy Schwatzenburg, and Jordan Sims.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.