Ontario Legend Series

Kevin Foisy Scores Ontario Legends Series ACC Feature Victory

Kevin Foisy made his way to the front, and never looked back en route to scoring the Ontario Legends Series Autumn Colours Classic feature victory.

Following qualifying on Friday, Andre Fiorini started pole ahead of Wes Cuthbertson, Paul Perik, Kenny McNicol, Kevin Foisy, Matt Haufe, Adam Cuthbertson, Terry McCelland, the 00, Dawson Drimmie, Dave Riopelle, Robin Jongen, Brandon Thurlby, Gregory Rugzik, Joe Sherman, Andrew Massey, Hayden Brown, Shane Pollock, Cory Richardson, Bryan Batty, Parker Traves, Rick Eades, the 55, Jeremy Coulter, Don Arnott, Cole McFadden, Luke Atkins, and the 96. Unfortunately, Thurlby would not take the green due to issues.

Fiorini would get a good start ahead Wes Cuthbertson and Foisy, as Haufe and Perik battled for fourth. However, the first caution came out on Lap 3 for McNicol spinning in turns three and four. Rudzik and 00 headed down pit road under the yellow flag. Fiorini got a good restart ahead of Cuthbertson and Foisy, with Adam Cuthbertson up to fourth ahead of Riopelle and Haufe. However, it wouldn’t take long for another caution, as Brown went around on Lap 5 on the frontstretch.

Fiorini held serve ahead of Wes Cuthbertson, with Adam Cuthbertson up to third. Haufe would then challenge Adam, getting the third spot on Lap 7, bringing Foisy through with him. Adam now ran fifth ahead of Riopelle, McCelland, Jongen, Perik, Drimmie, Traves, and McNicol, with Arnott and the 96 pitting on Lap 11. Massey would run 13th ahead of Batty, Eades, Pollock, Richardson, and Brown. Traves would then move up into 11th on Lap 15, bringing McNicol through with him.

With 16 laps on the board, Fiorini continued to lead as Haufe jumped into second ahead of Wes Cuthbertson, Foisy, Adam Cuthbertson, Riopelle, McCelland, Jongen, and Perik. Jongen got alongside McCelland for seventh on Lap 19, with Traves passing Perik a lap later. Perik now ran 11th ahead of McNicol, Drimmie, Batty, and Massey.

At the front of the field, Haufe took the top spot on Lap 22 ahead of Fiorini, Wes Cuthbertson, Foisy, Riopelle, Jongen, McCelland, Traves, McNicol, and Perik. The third caution would come out on Lap 27 for Perik spinning in turn four.

The restart would see Haufe get loose, with Foisy and Fiorini trying for the split off of turn four. It wouldn’t work when they got to the other end, as Haufe and Fiorini both went around. Foisy would inherit the lead ahead of Adam Cuthbertson, Wes Cuthbertson, Riopelle, Jongen, McCelland, Traves, and Batty.

The restart would come at Lap 33 as they had hit their time limit, producing the fifth caution as Fiorini, the 55, and Richardson went around in turn two. The third attempt didn’t go better at Lap 35, with McNicol and Jongen going around on the frontstretch. Jongen would also be involved in the seventh caution at Lap 37, going around in turn one with Traves.

The fifth restart came at Lap 38, producing the eighth caution as Brown spun, collecting Eades in the process. Oh, and the final ninth cauition – that came on the last lap courtesy of a hard wreck for Pollock on the frontstretch.

Kevin Foisy would get the win with Wes Cuthbertson getting second. Matt Haufe would get credited with third, which was enough to clinch his third straight Ontario Legends Series Championship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.