Race Reports

Brandon Passer Scores Third Victory of the Super Stock Season

Brandon Passer continues to impress at Sunset Speedway this season as he scored his third St. Onge Recreation feature victory on Saturday night.

Justin Holmes won the opening heat ahead of Coltin Everingham, Herb Walters, Stefan Semeraro, Ryan Semple, Carson Nagy, Tom Walters, Todd Davenport, Dustyn Mombourquette, and Joe Daley.

The second heat featured a caution at Lap 4 when Dan Archibald spun Frank Davey, followed by Mike Weeda spinning across Nick Tooley’s nose. Brandon Passer picked up the win ahead of Ethan Constable, Gerrit Tiemersma, Archibald, Robbie Sikes, Johnny Morrison, and Davey.

Tom Walters won the third heat ahead of Semeraro, Semple, Holmes, Herb Walters, Everingham, Davenport, Nagy, and Mombourquette.

Dan Archibald won the fourth heat ahead of Passer, Davey, Tiemersma, Weeda, Morrison, Constable, Sikes, and Tooley.

Come feature time, Gerrit Tiemersma started pole ahead of Johnny Morrison, Ethan Constable, Brandon Passer, Frank Davey, Stefan Semeraro, Tom Walters, Dan Archibald, Coltin Everingham, Herb Walters, Ryan Semple, Justin Holmes, Mike Weeda, Carson Nagy, Robbie Sikes, Joe Daley, Todd Davenport, Rod Tooley, and Dustyn Mombourquette.

The initial green flag saw a caution come out right away on the opening lap as Constable broke a suspension part following slight contact with Passer.

The second attempt to start the race went smoothly with Morrison and Tiemersma side-by-side for the lead, with Tiemersma taking the top spot on Lap 2 as Passer got alongside Morrison for second. Passer got the spot two laps later ahead of Morrison as Semeraro and Davey battled for fourth.

Passer would easily track down Tiemersma for the lead, getting alongside him for the top spot at Lap 6, completing the pass two laps later. Tiemersma now ran second with Semeraro up to third as Archibald got alongside Morrison for fourth ahead of Davey and Holmes. Semeraro would move into second on Lap 12 ahead of Tiemersma, Archibald, Davey and Holmes as Morrison and Everingham battled for seventh ahead of Semple.

Archibald would get alongside Tiemersma for third on Lap 15 as Tooley headed down pit road, done for the event. Archibald would get the spot on Lap 17, with Davey and Holmes following him through a lap later.

Holmes would then look to get past Davey for fourth, but the pair would make contact, with Davey going around for the spin, collecting Weeda in the aftermath. With 11 laps to go, Passer led Semeraro, Archibald, Tiemersma, Everingham, Herb Walters, Morrison, Semple, Davenport, Tom Walters, Nagy, Sikes, Daley, Holmes, Davey, and Weeda.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Semeraro and Passer ahead of Archibald, Everingham, Tiemersma, and Herb Walters. The battle for third wouldn’t go smoothly, though, with contact down the backstretch resulting in Archibald going for a spin and the second caution on Lap 22. With eight laps to go, Passer led Semeraro, Everingham, Tiemersma, Walters, Semple, Morrison, and Davenport.

The restart would not go smoothly as there’d an incident on Lap 23 in turns one and two involving Sikes and Weeda.

With a rain delay earlier and the APC Series scheduled for 100 laps, the super stock event would be called, seven laps before completion. Brandon Passer got the win ahead of Stefan Semeraro, Coltin Everingham, Gerrit Tiemersma, Herb Walters, Johnny Morrison, and Ryan Semple.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.