Great Lakes Concrete Series

Kevin Bridge Makes Last Race Pass for Spring Velocity Victory at Sunset Speedway

It came down to the wire, which kept it exciting for the fans as Kevin Bridge made the pass in the late stages on Warren Paxton to score the Spring Velocity feature win at Sunset Speedway.

Kevin Bridge started off the day in victory lane ahead of Paxton, Craig Kamrath, Will Gibbons, Mike Meyer, Kyle Fetterly, and Eric Rainey. Notably, the 41 pulled off before the green flag was flown.

Daniel Montanari won the second heat ahead of Jason D’Antimo, Bob Phinnemore, Stefan Woyslaw, and Doug Wilman. Notably, Ken Townsend pulled off before the green flag was flown.

Warren Paxton won the third heat ahead of Bridge, Gibbons, Fetterly, Meyer, Rainey, and Kamrath.

Townsend’s fourth heat didn’t go well as he ended up pointed into the front stretch wall on Lap 4. Daniel Montanari went for the daily double ahead of Bos, Phinnemore, Wilman, Woyslaw, D’Antimo, and Townsend.

Come feature time, Mike Meyer would start pole ahead of Craig Kamrath, Doug Wilman, Stefan Woyslaw, Jason D’Antimo, Bob Phinnemore, Warren Paxton, Kevin Bridge, Daniel Montanari, Eric Rainey, Chandler Bos, Kyle Fetterly, and Ken Townsend. Will Gibbons was supposed to start mid-pack, but was sent off track before the green flag was given.

Craig Kamrath jumped out to the early lead over Mike Meyer on the green flag, but the caution was flown as Stefan Woyslaw went around in turns one and two on Lap 1 courtesy of contact from Doug Wilman.

Kamrath got a good restart to keep the lead as Meyer battled Paxton for second. Paxton got the spot on Lap 3, bringing Bridge through with him as Meyer dropped back to fourth. Montanari worked his way up to fifth ahead of Bos, as Phinnemore and Fetterly battled for seventh. Montanari was then able to get alongside Meyer for fourth at Lap 5.

With six laps on the board, Paxton was able to chase down Kamrath for the lead, taking the top spot. Bridge continued to run third with Montanari now up to fourth ahead of Meyer and Bos. Bos was then able to move up into fifth on Lap 8, bringing Fetterly through with him to bump Meyer back to seventh. Phinnemore ran eighth, followed by Wilman, D’Antimo, Townsend, and Rainey.

Further up towards the front, Bridge continued his climb, getting alongside Kamrath for second at Lap 12, completing the pass a lap later. Montanari continued to run fourth ahead of Bos, Fetterly, Meyer, Phinnemore, and Wilman.

As the race neared conclusion, the gap between Bridge and Paxton continued to narrow down, with Bridge finding his way to Paxton’s bumper.

Kevin Bridge would make his move with four laps to go, passing Warren Paxton to win the Spring Velocity feature. Craig Kamrath finished third, followed by Daniel Montanari and Chandler Bos. Kyle Fetterly finished sixth, followed by Mike Meyer, Bob Phinnemore, Doug Wilman, Jason D’Antimo, Ken Townsend, and Eric Rainey.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.