Race Reports

Danny Benedict Uses Late Race Restart to Score Feature Victory

A restart with four laps to go changed everything on Saturday night, as it gave Danny Benedict the perfect opportunity to take the lead, and win the first 60-lap feature of the year for the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Models.

The first heat featured a quick caution at Lap 2 for Ron Quesnelle spinning Billy Zardo in turn four. Danny Benedict picked up the win ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt, Jordan Latimer, Josh Stade, Quesnelle, Zardo, Thayne Hallyburton, Travis Hallyburton, Kendra Adams and Mike Wilkinson.

Taylor Holdaway won the second heat ahead of Nick Goetz, Paul Maltese, Gord Shepherd, Dwayne Baker, Paul Maltese, Connor James, and Nic Montanari.

Come feature time, it’d be Billy Zardo grabbing the early advantage off of the green flag ahead of Dwayne Baker and Gord Shepherd, as Paul Maltese and Ron Quesnelle battled for fourth at Lap 7, ahead of Nick Goetz and Josh Stade batting for sixth. Behind them, there’d also be a battle for eighth between Jordan Latimer and Thayne Hallyburton. Shepherd would get alongside Baker for second at Lap 9, with contact happening between the pair, causing a flat tire for Shepherd and the first caution of the event.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Zardo and Baker, as Stade and Maltese battled for third. Stade got the spot on Lap 13 ahead of Maltese, Goetz and Quesnelle, as Holdaway and Latimer battled for seventh. Goetz would get alongside Maltese for fourth at Lap 14 ahead of Quesnelle, Taylor Holdaway, and Danny Benedict, with Latimer and Jason Parker side-by-side for ninth.

Parker got the spot on Lap 16 ahead of Latimer, Rick Spencer-Walt, Connor James, Mike Wilkinson, and Shepherd. Further up the field, Goetz would clear Maltese for fourth, with Quesnelle running sixth as Benedict and Holdaway battled for seventh ahead of Parker, Latimer, Spencer-Walt, and Shepherd.

Spencer-Walt got alongside Latimer for 10th at Lap 22, with Quesnelle getting alongside Maltese for fifth a lap later. Benedict continued to run seventh ahead of Holdaway and Parker, with Spencer-Walt clearing Latimer for 10th at Lap 24. Shepherd would follow him through a lap later, bumping Latimer back to 12th ahead of James, Travis Hallyburton, Thayne Hallyburton, Kendra Adams, and Nic Montanari.

At the halfway mark, Maltese would clear Quesnelle for fifth, with Holdaway following him through two laps later. Quesnelle would now run seventh ahead of Benedict, Parker, Spencer-Walt, Shepherd, and Latimer. Benedict would then get by Quesnelle, getting alongside Holdaway for sixth at Lap 35, as Wilkinson got alongside Latimer for 12th a lap later.

With 46 laps on the board, Billy Zardo led Dwayne Baker, Josh Stade and Nick Goetz, with Benedict alongside Maltese for fifth ahead of Holdaway, Quesnelle, and Parker. Goetz then got alongside Stade for third at Lap 41, with Benedict clearing Maltese. Goetz would get the spot two laps later, with Benedict following him through for fourth.

Stade now ran fifth as Maltese and Quesnelle battled for sixth ahead of Parker, Spencer-Walt, Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Latimer, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, James, and Montanari. Quesnelle would clear Maltese for sixth at Lap 49, with Parker running eighth as Spencer-Walt and Shepherd battled for ninth. Behind them, Travis hallyburton ran 11th, followed by Wilkinson, Latimer, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, James and Montanari.

Montanari was then able to get alongside James for 16th at Lap 53, with Latimer heading down pit road a lap later with a problem. The battle would come to a head at the front of the field, though, with the caution flying on Lap 56 as Dwayne Baker and Nick Goetz both went around after contact. With four laps to go, Billy Zardo led Benedict, Tiemersma, Holdaway, Quesnelle, Maltese, Parker, Spencer-Walt, Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, Baker, Goetz, Montanari, and James.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Zardo and Benedict, with Benedict taking the top spot with three laps to go as Stade and Holdaway battled for third.

Danny Benedict led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory, followed by Billy Zardo, Taylor Holdaway, Josh Stade, and Paul Maltese. Ron Quesnelle finished sixth, followed by Rick Spencer-Walt, Jason Parker, Gord Shepherd, and Mike Wilkinson. Travis Hallyburton finished 11th, followed by Nick Goetz, Kendra Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, Nic Montanari, Connor James, Dwayne Baker, and Jordan Latimer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.