Race Reports

Stefan Semeraro Scores First Career Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

Out-battling some of the best in the division, Stefan Semeraro did what he needed to do to score his first career St. Onge Recreation Super Stock feature victory at Sunset Speedway.

Brandon Passer won the first heat ahead of Coltin Everingham, Mike Weeda, Tom Walters, Herb Walters, and Justin Holmes.

Stefan Semeraro won the second heat ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, Gerrit Tiemersma, Frank Davey, Johnny Morrison, and Brandon Feeney.

Mike Weeda won the third heat ahead of Holmes, Passer, Tom Walters, Everingham, and Herb Walters.

Gerrit Tiemersma won the fourth heat ahead of Semeraro, Mombourquette, Davey, Feeney, Ethan Constable, and Morrison.

Come feature time, it’d be Gerrit Tiemersma starting pole ahead of Mike Weeda, Brandon Passer, Stefan Semeraro, Dustyn Mombourquette, Coltin Everingham, Tom Walters, Frank Davey, Justin Holmes, Herb Walters, Ethan Constable, Paul Pepper, and Johnny Morrison.

Tiemersma and Weeda would battle for the top spot on the drop of the green flag, with Tiemersma grabbing the early advantage as Semeraro got alongside Weeda for second. The pair both had more speed than Tiemersma, taking him three-wide for the lead on Lap 4. Semeraro would come out on top ahead of Weeda and Tiemersma.

Behind them, Passer ran fourth ahead of Tom Walters, Holmes, Everingham, Mombourqutte, Herb Walters, Davey, Morrison and Constable. Holmes would get alongside Tom Walters for fifth at Lap 9, but was unable to complete the pass. Everingham would try to pass Holmes for sixth, but was also unsuccessful.

Holmes then got back alongside Walters at Lap 14, completing the pass two laps later. Everingham then got alongside Walters for sixth at Lap 17, with the pair battling until Walters went for a spin in turn two on Lap 19 for the first caution. With 11 laps to go, Semeraro led Weeda, Tiemersma, Passer, Holmes, Mombourquette, Davey, Herb Walters, Morrison, Constable, Tom Walters, and Everingham.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Semeraro and Weeda, with Semeraro maintaining the top spot. Tiemersma would then get alongside Weeda for second at Lap 22, but the caution would fly a lap later for an incident in turn four involving Davey, Mombourqutte, Morrison, Contsable, and Tom Walters.

The restart saw a battle for the lead once again between Semeraro and Weeda, with Semeraro once again holding serve. Tiemersma would get alongside Weeda once again for second on Lap 25, completing the pass three laps later, with Holmes following him through for third.

Stefan Semeraro led the rest of the way en route to win ahead of Gerrit Tiemersma, Justin Holmes, Mike Weeda, and Brandon Passer. Herb Walters finished sixth, followed by Coltin Everingham, Dustyn Mombourquette, Tom Walters, and Paul Pepper.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.