Flamboro Speedway

Treyten Lapcevich Scores Feature Victory at Flamboro Speedway

Starting on pole, Treyten Lapcevich led flag-to-flag en route to scoring the Super Stock feature victory at Flamboro Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

During Saturday’s qualifying, he laid down the quickest lap at 16.539 seconds in a session that saw the top-10 cars separated by less than two tenths of a second. Ken Grubb (16.599) qualified second, followed by Bobby Mercer (16.607), Chris Howse (16.623), and Kevin Gallant (16.629). Brandon McFerran qualified sixth, followed by Joe Trafford, Jager McMaster, Carson Nagy, and Brad Collison.

Nick Troback qualified 11th, followed by Steve Ecker, Dennis Cybalski, Kenny McNicol Jr., and Miles Tyson. Randy Rusnell qualified 16th, followed by Shawn Arnott, Jeremy Bean, Trevor Collver, and Steve Book.

The rest of the cars were sent to the b-main to set the remainder of the field. Brandon Passer won that ahead of Dustin Jackson, Dan Price, Joe Arsenault, Nick Clarke, and Brent Wheller. The 37, Brandon Feeney, and AJ Miller failed to qualify.

Come feature time, Lapcevich jumped out to the early lead ahead of Grubb, Howse, and Gallant as McFerran and Mercer ran side-by-side for fifth. McFerran got the spot on Lap 4, but the caution would fly for Arnott suffering a flat tire. Under yellow flag, McMaster would stop in turn one with a broken ball joint.

The first attempt at a restart saw Collison run into problems off of turn four, taking Tyson and Collver out with him. The second attempt went cleanly with Lapcevich leading Grubb, Howse, McFerran, Gallant, Troback, Nagy, Cybalski and Ecker. But the caution would fly again, this time on Lap 7 for Arsenault spinning in turn one and two. Under the yellow flag, Ecker made his way into the pits.

The first attempt resulted in the fourth caution as Passer spun in turn two, with Gallant spinning Howse as the pack tried to slow down. The second attempt went cleanly with Lapcevich continuing to lead Grubb and Howse. Gallant then got alongside Howse for third, passing him on Lap 13, bringing McFerran and Troback through with him.

Howse now ran sixth ahead of Cybalski, McNicol, Andrew Ferreira, Arnott and Nagy. Cybalski then got alongside Howse for sixth at Lap 17, though was unable to complete the pass. Instead, McNicol would get by Cybalski four laps later, before getting alongside Howse for sixth. The battle for position didn’t go well for Howse, as he’d end up sideways on the frontstretch and drew the sixth caution on Lap 23.

The restart saw an incident involving Troback, McNicol, Arnott, Ferreira, and Book. With seven laps to go, Lapcevich led Grubb, Gallant, McFerran, Nagy, Cybalski, Passer, Arnott, Rusnell, Mercer, Book, Jackson, and Wheller.

Lapcevich got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Grubb and Gallant, with Nagy moving up to fourth as Arnott got alongside McFerran for fifth. Arnott got the spot with four laps to go ahead of Mcferran, Cybalski, Passer, Rusnell, and Ferreira. Ferreira then got alongside Rusnell for ninth with two laps to go, completing the pass coming to the white flag.

Treyten Lapcevich picked up the win, 1.772 seconds ahead of Ken Grubb, Kevin Gallant, Carson Nagy, and Shawn Arnott. Brandon McFerran finished sixth, followed by Dennis Cybalski, Brandon Passer, Andrew Ferreira, and Randy Rusnell. Kenny McNicol Jr. placed 11th, followed by Bobby Mercer, Steve Book, Derek Jackson, and Brent Wheller.

Nick Troback finished 16th, followed by Chris Howse, Jaeger McMaster, Nick Clarke, and Steve Ecker. Dan Price placed 21st, followed by Joe Trafford, Brad Collison, Joe Arsenault, Miles Tyson, and Trevor Collver.

While Lapcevich won the first feature, a sixth-place finish in the second feature was one spot short of being able to take home the igloo and overall victory, thanks to a runner-up and fourth for Ken Grubb.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.