Outlaw Midgets

Richard Woodland Scores Outlaw Midget Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

After all the chaos was settled, Richard Woodland found his way to the front and victory in the Outlaw Midget feature at Sunset Speedway.

Jody Bound won the first heat ahead of Adam Carrothers, Rob McCall, Richard Woodland, Paul Draganac, Larry Lawson, Mike Bradley, Nigel Buttivant, Kevin Spiez, Eric Wagner, and Steve Lassman.

Jessica James won the second qualifier ahead of Rob McCall, Adam Tyo, Brian Woodland, Jeff Blackburn, Monty Farrell, Wayne McKibbon, Lorne Van Dusen Jr., James Rodgers, Ryan Brown, and the 17.

Bound went for the daily double ahead of Carrothers, McCall, Richard Woodland, Draganac, Bradley, Lawson, Lassman, and Buttivant.

James went for the daily double ahead of McLean, Brian Woodland, Van Dusen Jr., Blackburn, Farrell, Rodgers, McKibbon, Brown, and the 17.

Come feature time, Lorne Van Dusen Jr. started on pole ahead of Adam Tyo, Mike Bradley, Wayne McKibbon, Steve Lassman, Larry Lawson, Richard Woodland, Monty Farrell, Rob McCall, Brian Woodland, Jessica James, Adam Carrothers, Jody Bound, Ryan Brown, Robin McLean, Jeff Blackburn, and Paul Draganac.

The cautions came early, with the first one flying on Lap 1 for the 17 stopping in turn four. The restart brought forth a second with an incident in turn three involving Nigel Buttivant, Draganac, and Brown.

The third attempt to start the event went cleanly with Adam Tyo grabbing the early advantage ahead of Van Dusen, Richard Woodland, and James. James would make her way up to second on Lap 3 with a three-wide pass on Woodland as they went by the lapped car of Wagner. She then got alongside Tyo for the lead on Lap 4, completing the pass a lap later. Bound was also able to get through traffic quickly, moving into second on Lap 6.

Behind them, Richard Woodland ran third ahead of Tyo, with Carrothers passing Tyo on Lap 7. McLean had made his way up to sixth ahead of McCall, Lawson, and Van Dusen. McLean continued moving forward, passing Tyo for fifth on Lap 9, with McCall following him through two laps later. Lawson continued to run eighth ahead of Van Dusen, Brian Woodland, and Farrell.

The battle at the front caught everyone’s attention on Lap 13 with Bound and James running side-by-side ahead of Richard Woodland and Carrothers. The pair remained side-by-side as other battles took place throughout the field, including Brian Woodland and Van Dusen on Lap 15 for ninth.

The battle for those spots just outside of the top-five got a little hairy as contact happened, creating the big one as Van Dusen Jr. cart-wheeled while Farrell flipped. The accident happened as the leaders were coming to lap them, causing both of the top-two cars to become involved. In all, the following drivers had damage – Buttivant, Lassman, Bradley, McKibbon, Van Dusen Jr., James, Brian Woodland, Farrell, Wakeling.

So with about six laps to go, Richard Woodland led Carrothers, McLean, McCall, Tyo, Lawson, Rodgers, Bradley, Buttivant, and Lassman. Before the race went back to green, but McLean and McCall pulled off the track.

Richard Woodland got a good restart, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory ahead of Adam Carrothers, Larry Lawson, James Rodgers, Adam Tyo, Mike Bradley, and Steve Lassman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.