mini stocks

Andy Kamrath Goes Back-To-Back in Velocity 250 at Sunset Speedway

Going to the front in the early stages, Andy Kamrath picked up the victory for his second straight Velocity 250 feature win at Sunset Speedway.

Andy Kamrath won the first heat ahead of fellow Sunset Speedway regular Nic Montanari, with Flamboro Speedway’s Jake Gilbert rounding out the podium. Sauble Speedway’s Bob Bailey and Sunset’s Warren Paxton completed the top-five. Cameron McGlashan finished sixth, followed by Craig Kamrath, Brian Wilson, Lisa DeLeeuw, Thomas Dunn, Dylan Holmes, Eric Rainey, Todd Loughnan, and Jacob Robb.

Sauble Speedway regular Will Gibbons won the second heat ahead of Peterborough Speedway competitor James Townsend and another Sauble driver, Cory Young. Sunset Speedway’s Charlie Smith placed fourth, with Full Throttle Motor Speedway’s Paul Boyd rounding out the top-five. Doug Wilson finished sixth, followed by Brandon Bullen, Brandon Crumbie, Curtis Stewart, Jay Cutting, Chandler Bos, Peter Wakeling, and Mike DeLeeuw.

Sunset Speedway competitor Eric Yorke won the third heat ahead of fellow competitor Doug Butler, as Sauble’s Jason Tolton finished out the podium. Sunset Speedway would complete the top-five, with Daniel Montanari and Mike Robinson Jr. Dave Crumbie finished sixth, followed by Stefan Woyslaw, Terry Woodley, Ken Townsend, Jason Alborn, Bob Phinnemore, Rusty Burleigh, and Chris Ruigrok.

Andy Kamrath went for the daily double ahead of Paxton, Nic Montanari, Full Throttle’s Brian Wilson, and Gilbert. McGlashan finished sixth, followed by Dunn, Bailey, Craig Kamrath, Loughnan, Robb, Rainey, and Lisa DeLeeuw.

Will Gibbons went for the daily double ahead of Sunset’s own Brandon Bullen, Smith, Boyd, and Young. Cutting finished sixth, followed by Townsend, Bos, Brandon Crumbie, Stewart, Wilman, Wakeling, and Mike DeLeeuw.

Daniel Montanari won the sixth heat ahead of Butler, Yorke, Robinson Jr., and Tolton. Woyslaw finished sixth, followed by Dave Crumbie, Woodley, Townsend, Alborn, Phinnemore, and Burleigh.

With over 40 cars on the property, 18 drivers qualified for the main event through the heats, with the rest split into a pair of 15-lap b-mains, with speedway officials set to take the top-five from each. Neither race disappointed, either, with excitement throughout.

Ken Townsend put himself in fourth in the first b-main and looked quick enough to qualify, when his car stopped running on Lap 7. A second caution then came out on Lap 10, followed by a third when Brandon Crumbie stalled while running third. Then with two laps to go, Rusty Burleigh spun in turn four, collecting Mike DeLeeuw. Craig Kamrath picked up the win ahead of Dave Crumbie, Jay Cutting, Eric Rainey and Curtis Stewart. Peter Wakeling and DeLeeuw failed to qualify.

The second event had a single caution on Lap 11 for Dylan Holmes and Doug Wilman spinning on the backstretch. Once they went back to green, it was on for the final spot and contact ensued between Todd Loughnan and Thomas Dunn, with Dunn’s bumper dragging. Dunn was black-flagged on the last lap, sending him pit side before the checkered. Stefan Woyslaw won ahead of Chris Ruigrok, Lisa DeLeeuw, Terry Woodley, and Loughnan. Holmes, Jacob Robb, Bob Phinnemore, Doug Wilman, Chandler Bos, and Dunn failed to qualify.

Come time for the main event, the Montanari brothers led the field to the green flag with Nic Montanari taking the top spot on Lap 2 ahead of Eric Yorke, as Daniel Montanari battled three-wide with Andy Kamrath and Doug Butler. Yorke then got alongside Nic on Lap 3, passing him one lap to take over the top spot with Kamrath in toe.

With seven laps on the board, Yorke led ahead of Kamrath, Butler and Nic Montanari as Daniel Montanari battled Will Gibbons for fifth. Daniel was able to clear Gibbons on Lap 10, with Warren Paxton seventh ahead of Charlie Smith, Cory Young, Jake Gilbert and James Townsend.

Behind them, Robinson Jr. and Jason Tolton battled 12th. Behind them, Bob Bailey ran 14th ahead of Paul Boyd, with McGlashan and Brian Wilson side-by-side for 16th. The battle for 12th got interesting at Lap 15 with Robinson Jr., Tolton, and Bailey going three-wide. Robinson Jr. came out on top ahead of Tolton as Bailey battled Boyd for 14th.

Further up the field, things got interesting with Nic Montanari moving up to third as Daniel Montanari got alongside Butler for fourth on Lap 20. Daniel was unable to complete the pass, though as he fell back in line four laps later.

Butler was then able to get back alongside Nic for third, when the caution flew at Lap 26 for Cutting going around. With 10 laps to go, Yorke led Kamrath, Butler, Nic Montanari, Will Gibbons, Daniel Montanari, Paxton, Young, Gilbert, and Townsend. Robinson Jr. ran 11th ahead of Tolton, Bailey, Boyd, and Toope. Bullen ran as the first car one lap down in 16th ahead of Wilson, Rainey, Woyslaw, Dave Crumbie, Ruigrok, Cutting, and Woodley.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Yorke and Kamrath, with Kamrath taking the top spot on Lap 27 as Butler got alongside Yorke for second ahead of Nic Montanari, with Danel Montanari battling Gibbons for fifth. Butler would grab second with six laps to go ahead of Yorke, but Yorke came right back to challenge him a lap later. The challenge was short lived, though, as the second caution flew for James Townsend spinning in turn two, collecting Cutting.

Kamrath then got a good restart, taking the top spot ahead of Butler, as Yorke battled Nic Montanari for third. Nic Montanari then got the spot, with the caution flying on Lap 33 for an incident involving Bullen, DeLeeuw, and Wilson.

Andy Kamrath then got another good restart, keeping the lead ahead of Doug Butler. As Kamrath was coming to get the white flag, though, the caution flew for an incident on the backstretch involving Paxton, Tolton and Smith. The race was then called at that point.

Andy Kamrath won the event ahead of Doug Butler, Eric Yorke, Nic Montanari, and Daniel Montanari. Will Gibbons finished sixth, followed by Mike Robinson Jr., Jake Gilbert, Cameron McGlashan, and Warren Paxton. Charlie Smith finished 11th, followed by Jason Tolton, Chris Ruigrok, Dave Crumbie, Stefan Woyslaw, Terry Woodley, Jay Cutting, Lisa DeLeeuw, Craig Kamrath, and Branden Bullen. Eric Rainey finished 21st, followed by Curtis Stewart, Brian Wilson, Cory Young, Bob Bailey, James Townsend, Paul Boyd, and Todd Loughnan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.