Dan Archibald Sweeps Velocity 250 Weekend at Sunset Speedway

Making his way to the front in both features over the weekend, Dan Archibald would sweep both features as part of Sunset Speedway’s Velocity 250 weekend.

Jerry Broom started on pole for the feature ahead of Adam Misener, Dan Price, Lance Foster, Tyler Hawn, Kenny McNicol, Douglas Fischer, Dan Archibald, Nick Clarke, Darcy Gibbons, and Jerry Luckhart.

Misener would jump out to the early lead ahead of the field, with Foster quickly moving into second. Foster then got alongside Misener for the lead on Lap 2, while Broom, Price and Archbald went three-wide behind them. Foster was able to take the top spot on Lap 4 ahead of Misener, with Archibald moving up into second a lap later.

Archibald’s climb continued to the front as he’d get alongside Foster on Lap 6, completing the pass a lap later. Foster was quickly back to challenge, though, but would get sideways off of turn four, before going for a spin for the first yellow flag at Lap 8. Unfortunately, this was the end of Gibbon’s run as he headed pit side with overheating issues.

Archibald got a good restart to keep the lead while Misener and McNicol battled for second ahead of Price, Hawn, and Broom. Mcnicol was able to clear Misener, getting alongside Archibald for the lead at Lap 10 as Hawn got alongside Price for fourth. The caution then flew on Lap 11, though, as Luckhardt lost the left front wheel assembly in turn three.

Archibald got a good restart once again ahead of McNicol and Misener. Hawn continued to move forward, getting alongside Misener for third at Lap 13, followed by completing the pass a lap later. Behind them, Price was able to hold off a charge from Fischer for the fifth position. Foster had made his way back up to seventh ahead of Broom and Clarke.

With the laps counting down, the battle at the front got interesting with McNicol challenging Archibald for the lead with two laps later, but unable to complete the pass.

Dan Archibald picked up the win while Kenny McNicol edged out Tyler Hawn at the line for second. Adam Misener finished fourth, followed by Dan Price, Douglas Fischer, Lance Foster, Jerry Broom, and Nick Clarke.

As just announced on Tuesday, the OSCAAR Hot Rods will be back in action at this weekend’s Frotoberfest at Flamboro Speedway.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.