Race Reports

Nick Goetz Scores Late Model Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

When the leaders got together, Nick Goetz took the advantage and never gave it back up, scoring the victory in the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature at Sunset Speedway.

Following time trials, it’d be Nick Goetz on pole ahead of Gord Shepherd, Chris Morrow, Taylor Holdaway, Jordan Latimer, Ron Quesnelle, Travis Hallyburton, Rick Spencer-Walt, Kendra Adams, Paul Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Allan Inglis, Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton, Brittney Gresel, and Paul Geniole Jr.

The start of the feature saw Goetz and Shepherd battle side-by-side for the lead, as Morrow and Holdaway battled for third ahead of Latimer. It didn’t take long for a caution, though, as the first one came out on Lap 3 for a car slowing down the backstretch.

The first attempt at a restart did not work out well for Travis Hallyburton as contact with Jordan Latimer sent the No. 39 into the turn three and four wall. With three laps on the board, Shepherd led Goetz, Holdaway, Morrow, Quesnelle, Spencer-Walt, Maltese, Inglis, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Fumerton and Gresel.

The restart saw the battle for the lead continue between Goetz and Shepherd, with Goetz taking the top spot on Lap 5 ahead of Shepherd, Holdaway, Morrow, Spencer-Walt and Inglis. Spencer-Walt got alongside Morrow for fourth at Lap 7, completing the pass five laps later. Inglis would follow him through on Lap 12, along with Thayne Hallyburton and Maltese a lap later to bump Morrow back to eighth.

With 14 laps on the board, Goetz led ahead of Shepherd, Holdaway, Spencer-Walt, Inglis and Hallyburton. Hallyburton then got alongside Inglis for fifth on Lap 16, with Shepherd getting back alongside Goetz for the lead two laps later. However, the caution would fly on Lap 19 as Inglis went around in turn two, following contact with Hallyburton. With seven laps to go, Shepherd led Goetz, Holdaway, Spencer-Walt, Maltese, Quesnelle, Adams, Fumerton, Gresel, Latimer, Wilkinson, Hallyburton, Inglis and Morrow.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Shepherd and Goetz, as Holdaway and Spencer-Walt went side-by-side for third. Shepherd got the lead ahead of Goetz on Lap 23, with Holdaway clearing Spencer-Walt a lap later. Quesnelle ran fifth ahead of Maltese and Fumerton, with Latimer alongside Adams for eighth at Lap 25.

Goetz would get back alongside Shepherd for the lead at Lap 27, with Holdaway continuing to run third ahead of Spencer-Walt, Quesnelle, Maltese, Fumerton, Latimer, Adams, Gresel, Hallyburton and Morrow. Shepherd was able to hold off Goetz, with Holdaway becoming the beneficiary as he passed Goetz to move into second behind Shepherd with five laps to go.

Coming off turn four with two laps to go, Holdaway made the move underneath Shepherd for the lead, with the pair coming together. As they got sideways, they’d make contact with Spencer-Walt, resulting in Spencer-Walt making significant contact with the turn one wall. Spencer-Walt was done for the event, with both Holdaway and Shepherd able to continue, sent to the tail of the field for the restart.

Nick Goetz would inherit the lead, holding off the field on the restart to pick up the feature victory. Ron Quesnelle finished second, followed by Paul Maltese, Jordan Latimer, and Ernie Fumerton. Kendra Adams finished sixth, followed by Thayne Hallyburton, Brittney Gresel, Al Inglis, and Gord Shepherd. Mike Wilkinson finished 11th, followed by Taylor Holdaway and Chris Morrow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.