Flamboro Speedway

Rodney Rutherford Scores Pure Stock Gold Rush Victory at Flamboro Speedway

After taking the pole in time trials, Rodney Rutherford led flag-to-flag, holding off Gary Slama in the late stages to win the Gold Rush Pure Stock Invitational.

Rutherford started first ahead of Slama, Clinton Kerkhof, Nick Clarke, Mark Thorne, Gillian Hills, Kevin Gallant, Phil Givens, Eric Crow, Andy Wheller, Courtney Scott, Josh Schantz, Ross Winters Jr., Billy Schwartzenburg, Rob Hoskins, the 73, Matt Fraser, the 44, John Ditner, Scott Brooks, Blair Mayhew, Rob Shaw, Scott DeLeeuw, and Brandon McFerran.

Rutherford grabbed the early advantage ahead of Slama, Clarke, Kerkhof, Thorne, Hills, Gallant, Wheller, Givens, Crow, Schantz, Winters Jr., the 73, Scott, and Schwartzenburg as the top-15 spread out single-file. Action didn’t take long to pick-up, though, with Gallant getting alongside Hills for sixth on Lap 7. Gallant took the spot a lap later, bringing Wheller through with him as Givens got alongside next.

Givens would take the eighth position on Lap 10 ahead of Hils and Crow as Hoskins and Schantz ran side-by-side for 11th. Schantz took the spot on Lap 12 ahead of Hoskins and the 73. Kerkhof then tried to make his way forward, getting alongside Clarke for third on Lap 14, but was unable to complete the pass as he fell back in line.

Thorne continued to run fifth as Wheller got alongside Gallant for sixth on Lap 16 ahead of Givens. Wheller got the spot two laps later ahead of Gallant and Wheller, with Crow, Hils and Schantz rounding out the top-11. Unfortunately, Kerkhof’s strong run came to an end on Lap 19, as he pulled off with an issue. This allowed Thorne to move up to fourth ahead of Wheller, Gallant, Givens, Crow, Schantz, the 73, Hoskins, Hils, Winters Jr., and Schwartzenburg.

Through the final laps, Slama was right on Rutherford’s back bumper as Rutherford got hung up behind Winters Jr., trying to put him a lap down. Slama tried a couple different ways around, but was unable to get by in the final five laps.

Rodney Rutherford picked up the victory ahead of Gary Slama, Nick Clarke, Mark Thorne, Andy Wheller, Kevin Gallant, Phil Givens, Eric Crow, Josh Schantz, the 73, Rob Hoskins, Gillian Hils, Ross Winters Jr., and Billy Schwartzenburg.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.