Race Reports

Rick Spencer-Walt Dominates En Route Late Model Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

A familiar sight was at the front of the field at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night, as Rick Spencer-Walt dominated en route to scoring the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature.

Off the drop of the green flag, Jordan Latimer jumped out to the early lead ahead of Danny Benedict, Rick Spencer-Walt and Michael Wilkinson as Ernie Fumerton and Brittney Gresel ran side-by-side for fifth. Spencer-Walt then got alongside Benedict for second on Lap 3, completing the pass a lap later. Wilkinson continued to run fourth, with Fumerton and Gresel continuing their battle ahead of Travis Hallyburton.

Spencer-Walt then tracked down Latimer for the lead, getting alongside him for the top spot on Lap 7, and completing the pass three laps later. Benedict then got alongside Latimer for second on Lap 11, completing the pass two laps later. Wilkinson continued to run fourth ahead of Fumerton, Travis Hallyburton and Chris Morrow. Shepherd then got alongside Morrow for seventh at Lap 15, completing the pass a lap later.

Morrow now ran eighth ahead of Nick Goetz, Brittney Gresel, Taylor Holdaway and Thayne Hallyburton. Travis Hallyburton then got alongside Fumerton for fifth at Lap 18 as Al Inglis headed down pit road with a problem. Goetz then got alongside Morrow for eighth at Lap 19, with Wilkinson getting alongside Latimer for third with 10 laps to go.

Travis Hallyburton now ran fifth behind them as Fumerton and Shepherd ran side-by-side for sixth. Shepherd got the spot on Lap 22 ahead of Fumerton, with Morrow and Goetz still side-by-side for eighth. Wilkinson was unable to complete the pass on Latimer, as it’d be Hallyburton getting alongside Latimer for third at Lap 24, with Shepherd alongside Wilkinson for fifth.

Spencer-Walt continued to lead at the front of the field ahead of Benedict with Hallyburton up to third ahead of Shepherd, as Latimer and Goetz battled side-by-side for fifth. Shepherd then got alongside Hallyburton for third with seven laps to go, as Goetz took fifth ahead of Morrow, Latimer and Wilkinson. Shepherd would clear Hallyburton for third with five laps to go.

The battles continued as Wilkinson moved up to seventh on Lap 31 ahead of Latimer, with Fumerton getting alongside Latimer a lap later for eighth. Behind them, Gresel and Jo Lawrence battled side-by-side for 10th, but the caution would fly for Goetz climbing the backstretch wall. With three laps to go, Spencer-Walt, Benedict, Shepherd, Hallyburton, Morrow, Wilkinson, Latimer, Fumerton, Gresel, Holdaway, Lawrence, Thayne Hallyburton and Quesnelle.

Rick Spencer-Walt go away on the restart for the win ahead of Danny Benedict, Gord Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton and Chris Morrow. Mike Wilkinson finished sixth, followed by Jordan Latimer, Brittney Gresel, Ernie Fumerton and Jo Lawrence. Taylor Holdaway finished 11th, followed by Ron Quesnelle, Thayne Hallyburton, Paul Maltese, Nick Goetz and Billy Zardo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.