Flamboro Speedway

Andy Wheller Scores Pure Stock Feature Victory with Last Lap Pass

In a thrilling last lap pass down the backstretch going three-wide, Andy Wheller finished his climb through the field to pick up the victory in the Pure Stock feature at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night.

Matt Young would start pole ahead of Mark Thorne, Gillian Hils, Eric Crow, Clinton Kerkhof, Kevin Jackman, Doug Moir, Rob Shaw, Chris Pendlebury, Courtney Scott, Ross Winters Jr., Jeff Miller, John Ditner, David Rockwood, Leo Labarbera, Andy Wheller, and Jeff Bean.

Hils grabbed the early lead ahead of Thorne and Moir, but the caution flew a lap later as a result of Crow climbing the backstretch wall as a result of contact. He would be okay, and was able to continue on.

Hils got a restart with Moir slotting into second ahead of Thorne. Miller then got alongside Thorne for third, completing the pass on Lap 5. Behind them, Kerkhof ran fifth ahead of Wheller, Scott and Rockwood. Wheller then got alongside Kerkhof for fifth at Lap 7, completing the pass a lap later. Scott continued to run seventh ahead of Rockwood, Winters Jr., Young, Pendlebury, and Crow.

Wheller would continue to move forward, getting alongside Thorne for fourth and passing him on Lap 13. Behind them, Scott got alongside Kerkhof for sixth, but was unable to complete the pass. Instead, Scott continued to run seventh ahead of Rockwood, Winters Jr., and Crow, as Young and Pendlebury battled for 11th. Pendlebury got the spot on Lap 15, bringing Labarbera and Bean through with him.

At the front of the field, Hils continued to lead ahead of Moir, with Wheller now alongside Miller for third. Wheller got the spot with two laps to go, followed by taking Hils and Moir three-wide for the lead down the backstretch on the last lap. The move paid off, as he’d clear them both going into turn three.

Andy Wheller led the rest of the way en route to the victory ahead of Doug Moir, Jeff Miller, Mark Thorne, Clinton Kerkhof, Gillian Hils, Courtney Scott, David Rockwood, Eric Crow, and Ross Winters Jr. Chris Pendlebury finished 11th, followed by Leo Labarbera, Jeff Bean, Matt Young, John Ditner, Kevin Jackman and Rob Shaw.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.