Race Reports

Gord Shepherd Returns to Sunset Speedway Victory Lane

After playing the consistency card through most of the summer, Gord Shepherd returned to Sunset Speedway feature victory lane on Saturday night.

When the event started, Thayne Hallyburton started on pole ahead of Nick Goetz, Danny Benedict, Paul Maltese, Chris Morrow, Allan Inglis, Mike Wilkinson, Brittney Gresel, Ron Quesnelle, Jordan Latimer, Gord Shepherd, Rick Spencer-Walt, Ernie Fumerton, Kendra Adams, Taylor Holdaway and Travis Hallyburton.

Thayne Hallyburton grabbed the early advantage ahead of Goetz and Maltese, with Benedict and Morrow side-by-side for fourth. Morrow got the spot on Lap 3 ahead of Benedict, Wilkinson and Quesnelle as Shepherd and Inglis went side-by-side for eighth. Shepherd got the spot on Lap 5, with Spencer-Walt following him through to bump Inglis back to 10th. Behind him, Gresel ran 11th as Latimer and Adams went side-by-side for 12th ahead of Travis Hallyburton.

Shepherd would continue his climb forward, passing Quesnelle for seventh at Lap 9, followed by getting alongside Wilkinson for sixth. Shepherd took the sixth spot on Lap 11 ahead of Wilkinson, Spencer-Walt, Quesnelle, Gresel and Travis Hallyburton.

Morrow then got alongside Maltese for third at Lap 13, while Shepherd passed Benedict for fifth two laps later. Maltese was able to hold off Morrow, with Shepherd getting alongside Morrow for fourth. Shepherd completed the pass at Lap 17, getting alongside Maltese for third a lap later. Behind them, Morrow and Benedict ran side-by-side for fifth ahead of Spencer-Walt, with Wilkinson, Quesnelle and Travis Hallyburton three-wide for seventh.

Shepherd’s climb continued, as he cleared Maltese for third spot on Lap 20 ahead of Benedict, Spencer-Walt, Morrow, and Travis Hallyburton. Benedict then got alongside Maltese for fourth at Lap 23 ahead of Spencer-Walt, Morrow, Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Quesnelle, Latimer and Gresel. Maltese was able to hold off Benedict, with Spencer-Walt sneaking by Benedict for the fifth spot with nine laps to go.

At the front of the field, Goetz got alongside Thayne Hallyburton for the top spot with eight laps to go ahead of Shepherd, while Spencer-Walt got alongside Maltese for fourth. Behind them, Benedict ran sixth ahead of Travis Hallyburton, Morrow, Wilkinson and Quesnelle.

Goetz was able to grab the lead, but it also allowed Shepherd to get by Thayne Hallyburton for second in the process. Shepherd’s climb forward continued as he got alongside Goetz for the top spot with four laps to go ahead of Thayne Hallyburton, Spencer-Walt, Benedict and Maltese.

Gord Shepherd then cleared the leaders to take the top spot with two laps to go, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory. Nick Goetz finished second, followed by Thayne Hallyburton, Rick Spencer-Walt, and Danny Benedict. Paul Maltese finished sixth, followed by Travis Hallyburton, Chris Morrow, Mike Wilkinson, and Jordan Latimer. Brittney Gresel finished 11th, followed by Ron Quesnelle, Ernie Fumerton, Al Inglis, Taylor Holdaway and Kendra Adams.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.