Race Reports

Nick Goetz Leads Flag-to-Flag at Sunset Speedway

The victories keep on coming for NG Motorsports at Sunset Speedway as Nick Goetz led flag-to-flag in the first Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model on the night.

Following qualifying, it’d be Rick Spencer-Walt starting pole ahead of Nick Goetz, Billy Zardo, Travis Hallyburton, Jordan Latimer, Thayne Hallyburton, Chris Morrow, Kendra Adams, Dwayne Baker, Taylor Holdaway, Gord Shepherd, Brittney Gresel, Tom Walters, Mike Meyer, Danny Benedict, Al Inglis, Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton and Paul Maltese.

Off the drop of the green flag, Goetz grabbed the early lead ahead of Spencer-Walt and Zardo. Spencer-Walt would run into problems following contact with Zardo, pulling off the track on the third lap. Zardo moved up into second ahead of Latimer, Morrow and Travis Hallyburton, with Thayne Hallyburton alongside Adams for sixth at Lap 5. Behind them, Shepherd and Holdaway ran side-by-side for eighth ahead of Baker, Benedict and Walters.

Shepherd would get the eighth spot at Lap 7 ahead of Holdaway and Baker, with Baker getting alongside Holdaway for ninth a lap later. Baker got the spot on Lap 9, with Benedict continuing to run 10th. Further up the field, Thayne Hallyburton finally cleared Adams for sixth at Lap 11, bringing Shepherd through with him. Adams now ran eighth ahead of Baker, Holdaway, Benedict and Walters. The battles continued as Baker got alongside Adams next for eighth at Lap 13.

At the front of the field, Goetz continued to lead ahead of Zardo, Latimer, Morrow and Travis Hallyburton, as Shepherd and Thayne Hallyburton ran side-by-side for sixth at Lap 16 ahead of Baker, with Adams side-by-side with Holdaway. Shepherd got the spot on Lap 18, followed by passing Travis Hallyburton for fifth a lap later. Travis now ran sixth ahead of Thayne, Baker and Holdaway, with Adams and Benedict side-by-side for 10th ahead of Walters and Gresel.

The feature would not go without a caution, as the first yellow flag waved on Lap 22 for Travis Hallyburton going up in smoke. Under the yellow flag, Maltese headed down pit road for adjustments. With 14 laps to go, Goetz led Zardo, Latimer, Morrow, Shepherd, Thayne Hallyburton, Baker, Holdaway, Adams, Benedict, Walters, Gresel, Wilkinson, Meyer, Inglis and Maltese.

Goetz got a good restart to keep the lead with Morrow moving into second, as Latimer and Zardo went side-by-side for third. Latimer got the spot on Lap 24, with Shepherd following him through for fourth. Thayne Hallyburton got alongside Zardo next for fifth, but the caution would fly on Lap 26 for Benedict having a flat tire. With 10 laps to go, Goetz led Morrow, Latimer, Shepherd, Zardo, Thayne Hallyburton, Baker, Holdaway, Adams, Gresel, Meyer, Walters, Fumerton, Wilkinson and Inglis.

Goetz got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Morrow and Shepherd, with Thayne Hallyburton and Latimer side-by-side for fourth. Shepherd then got alongside Morrow for second at Lap 28, clearing him with five laps to go. The battle for fourth continued between Hallyburton and Latimer, as Zardo and Holdaway ran side-by-side for sixth ahead of Baker. Zardo would clear Holdaway with two laps to go.

Nick Goetz picked up the victory ahead of Gord Shepherd, Chris Morrow, Thayne Hallyburton and Jordan Latimer. Billy Zardo finished sixth, followed by Taylor Holdaway, Dwayne Baker, Brittney Gresel and Kendra Adams. Mike Meyer finished 11th, followed by Mike Wilkinson, Tom Walters, Ernie Fumerton, Al Inglis and Paul Maltese.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.