mini stocks

Montanari Brothers Make It 2 in a Row at Sunset Speedway

The Montanari brothers may not have been the first to cross the finish line on Saturday night, but they were credited with their second straight Signs of Innovation Mini Stock one-two finish at Sunset Speedway.

The first heat did not go cleanly, with Wendy Adams spinning in turn two. Daniel Montanari picked up the win ahead of Eric Yorke, Johnny Paradzinski, Samantha Shaw, Branden Bullen, Josh Bullen, Dylan Holmes, Curtis Stewart, Eric Rainey and Adams.

The second heat saw a couple of cautions, with the first on Lap 3 for Doug Wilman spinning in turns three and four after contact from Cameron McGlashan. Then on Lap 6, Peter Wakeling and Tyler Seaboyer got together on the frontstretch, followed by Mike Robinson Jr. spinning in turn four; Robinson Jr. got his spot back due to spinning after the yellow flag. Charlie Smith picked up the win ahead of Robinson Jr., McGlashan, Nic Montanari, Randi Seguin, Lisa DeLeeuw, Chandler Bos, Joe Dunlop, Wilman and Bob Phinnemore.

The third heat featured a quick caution with Holmes spinning on the backstretch on the opening lap. Samantha Shaw picked up the win ahead of Yorke, Daniel Montanari, Paradzinski, Woyslaw, Branden Bullen, Josh Bullen, Holmes, Rainey, Stewart and Adams.

Nic Montanari won the last heat ahead of McGlashan, Smith, Robinson Jr., Wilman, DeLeeuw, Phinnemore, Dunlop, Seguin, Bos and Wakeling.

Come feature time, it’d be Curtis Stewart starting pole ahead of Johnny Paradzinski, Doug Wilman, Joe Dunlop, Chandler Bos, Dylan Holmes, Samantha Shaw, Lisa DeLeeuw, Branden Bullen and Randi Seguin. Josh Bullen started 11th, followed by Stefan Woyslaw, Nic Montanari, Cameron McGlashan, Charlie Smith, Daniel Montanari, Eric Yorke, Bob Phinnemore, Wendy Adams, Peter Wakeling, and Mike Robinson Jr.

Paradzinski grabbed the early lead on the opening lap, but the caution flew on second circuit due to Holmes catching fire down the backstretch.

With 24 laps to go, Paradzinski led Dunlop, Stewart, Wilman, Bos, Shaw, Branden Bullen, Josh Bullen, DeLeeuw and Nic Montanari. Woyslaw ran 11th, followed by Smith, Seguin, Yorke, McGlashan, Daniel Montanari, Phinnemore, Rainey, Robinson Jr., Wakeling, Adams and Holmes.

Paradzinski got a good restart to keep the top spot ahead of Dunlop, with Wilman slipping into third before the caution flew once again for Branden Bullen spinning in turn two.

Parazinski got another good restart with Wilman moving up to second ahead of Shaw, as Nic Montanari went side-by-side with Dunlop for fourth at Lap 4. The caution would fly the next circuit, though, for Smith going up in smoke down the backstretch.

With 21 laps to go, Paradzinski led Wilman, Shaw, Montanari, Yorke, Dunlop, Phinnemore, Josh Bullen, Robinson Jr. and Daniel Montanari. Curtis Stewart ran 11th, followed by Woyslaw, McGlashan, DeLeeuw, Seguin, Phinnemore, Branden Bullen, Holmes, Wakeling, Rainey and Adams.

Parazinski got another good restart, with Shaw slipping into second as Yorke and Nic Montanari went sie-by-side for third. The third caution then came out, though, as Josh Bullen spun in turn four courtesy of McGlashan. With 19 laps to go, Paradzinski led Shaw, Montanari, Yorke, Robinson Jr., Wilman, Daniel Montanari, Bos, Woyslaw and Stewart. Dunlop ran 11th, followed by DeLeeuw, Seguin, Phinnemore, Branden Bullen, Holmes, Rainey, Wakeling, Adams, McGlashan and Josh Bullen.

Shaw would grab the lead on the restart with Yorke slipping into second ahead of Paradzinski as Nic Montanari and Robinson Jr. went side-by-side for fourth. Montanari got the spot, getting alongside Paradzinski for third at Lap 9. Behind them, Robinson Jr. had made his way up to fifth ahead of Daniel Montanari, with Woyslaw alongside Wilman for seventh.

Daniel Montanari would then get alongside Robinson Jr. for fifth on Lap 11, but the caution flew as Stewart and Holmes got together in turn four. With 15 laps to go, Shaw led Yorke, Nic Montanari, Paradzinski, Robinson Jr., Daniel Montanari, Wilman, Woyslaw, Bos and McGlashan. Dunlop ran 11th, followed by DeLeeuw, Seguin, Phinnemore, Josh Bullen, Rainey, Wakeling, Adams, Branden Bullen and Holmes.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Yorke and Shaw, as Paradzinski and Nic Montanari resumed their battle for third. Yorke got the lead on Lap 13, with Montanari getting alongside Shaw for second. Montanari got the spot a lap later, with his younger brother Daniel getting alongside Shaw for third. Behind them, Robinson Jr. ran fifth ahead of Paradzinski, with McGlashan alongside Woyslaw for seventh.

Daniel Montanari would get the third spot on Lap 16 ahead of Shaw, Robinson Jr., Paradzinski, McGlashan and Woyslaw. Wilman ran ninth with 18 laps complete ahead of Dunlop, Josh Bullen, Bos, Seguin and DeLeeuw. Holmes then got alongside DeLeeuw for 14th at Lap 19, completing the pass a lap later with Branden Bullen getting alongside her next.

Further up the field, Josh Bullen was able to get by Dunlop with three laps to go to break into the top-10, with Seguin passing Bos a lap later for 12th. Holmes ran 14th with Branden Bullen clearing DeLeeuw to move into 15th.

Eric Yorke would come across the line first as the race winner. However, he would be disqualified in post-race technical inspection, along with Charlie Smith.

As a result, Nic Montanari gets credited with the win ahead of Daniel Montanari, Samantha Shaw, Mike Robinson Jr. and Cameron McGlashan. Johnny Paradzinski gets sixth, followed by Stefan Woyslaw, Doug Wilman, Josh Bullen, and Joe Dunlop. Randi Seguin gets 11th, followed by Chandler Bos, Dylan Holmes, Branden Bullen, Lisa DeLeeuw, Bob Phinnemore and Eric Rainey.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.