Race Reports

Taylor Holdaway Picks Up Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

A familiar face graced Sunset Speedway feature victory lane on Saturday night as Taylor Holdaway picked up the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park feature win.

Following the first feature earlier in the night, Ernie Fumerton jumped out to the early lead with Kendra Adams and Mike Bentley side-by-side for second. Bentley got the spot on Lap 2, bringing Holdaway, Paul Maltese and Nick Goetz through with him to bump Adams back to sixth. Behind her, Gord Shepherd and Brittney Gresel ran side-by-side for seventh at Lap 4, with Travis Hallyburton alongside Mike Wilkinson for ninth.

There were battles throughout the field, with Goetz getting alongside Maltese for fourth at Lap 6, and Gresel getting alongside Adams for sixth. At the front of the field, Bentley was able to track down Fumerton for the lead, getting alongside him at Lap 7 ahead of Holdaway, Goetz and Maltese.

Bentley took the top spot on Lap 9, with Holdaway alongside Fumerton for second. Holdaway completed the pass, with the next driver through set to be Goetz. Unfortunately, contact happened resulting in Goetz going around entering turn one. With 26 laps to go, Bentley led Holdaway, Maltese, Gresel, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Adams, Travis Hallyburton, Gord Shepherd, Rick Spencer-Walt, Jordan Latimer, Chris Morrow, Al Inglis, Goetz, Mike Meyer, and Fumerton.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Holdaway and Bentley, with Gresel alongside Maltese for third. Holdaway cleared Bentley for the lead on Lap 12, but the caution flew for contact between Adams and Morrow on the frontstretch. With 24 laps to go, Holdaway led Bentley, Gresel, Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Shepherd, Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Latimer, Goetz, Inglis, Meyer, Morrow and Adams.

The restart saw a battle for the lead once again between Holdaway and Bentley, with Gresel and Maltese continuing their battle for third. Gresel got the third spot on Lap 13, with Thayne Hallyburton getting alongside Maltese next. Meanwhile, Holdaway cleared Bentley for the top spot on Lap 14, with Hallyburton moving into fourth a lap later. Shepherd then got alongside Maltese for fifth at Lap 16, with Travis Hallyburton and Wilkinson side-by-side for seventh.

Thayne Hallyburton continued his climb forward, getting alongside Gresel for third at Lap 18 ahead of Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton and Goetz. The pair battled side-by-side till the caution flew on Lap 20 for Wilkinson spinning Maltese in turns three and four. With 16 laps to go, Holdaway led Bentley, Gresel, Thayne Hallyburton, Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton, Goetz, Spencer-Walt, Latimer, Morrow, Inglis, Fumerton, Adams, Meyer, Wilkinson and Maltese.

The first attempt at a restart did not work out well, as the caution flew once again as Meyer went around in turn two.

The second attempt was clean, with Holdaway and Bentley side-by-side for the lead ahead of Thayne Hallyburton as Travis Hallyburton got alongside Gresel for fourth. Behind them, Shepherd and Spencer-Walt ran side-by-side for sixth ahead of Goetz and Morrow. Morrow then got alongside Goetz for eighth at Lap 25, as Gresel cleared Travis Hallyburton for fourth.

Shepherd then got alongside Travis Hallyburton for fifth at Lap 26, completing the pass a lap later, followed by getting alongside Gresel for fourth as Spencer-Walt moved up into sixth, with Morrow now alongside Hallyburton for seventh. Shepherd got the fourth spot with five laps to go ahead of Gresel and Spencer-Walt, as Morrow and Goetz continued to run side-by-side ahead of Hallyburton, Fumerton and Inglis.

At the front of the field, Holdaway would clear Bentley for the lead with two laps to go, with Thayne Hallyburton getting alongside Bentley for second.

Taylor Holdaway picked up the win ahead of Mike Bentley, Gord Shepherd, Thayne Hallyburton and Brittney Gresel. Nick Goetz finished sixth ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt, Chris Morrow, Travis Hallyburton, and Ernie Fumerton. Al Inglis finished 11th followed by Paul Maltese, Jordan Latimer, Mike Wilkinson, Mike Meyer and Kendra Adams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.