Race Reports

Dan Archibald Returns to Sunset Speedway with a Victory

After spending the last couple of weeks at Peterborough Speedway, Dan Archibald made his return to Sunset Speedway in a big way, scoring the St. Onge Recreation Super Stock feature victory on Saturday night.

Coltin Everingham won the first heat ahead of Brandon McFerran, Chris Allard, Justin Holmes, Jade Franklin, Dan Archibald, Brandon Passer, Frank Davey, Robbie Sikes, and Jay Cutting.

A three-wide battle between Jordan Howse, Miles Tyson and Ryan Semple resulted in contact, and Semple going around for the spin, with Fedele DiBello getting some damage. Semple then went around for another spin on the last lap, courtesy of contact with DiBello. Gerrit Tiemersma picked up the win ahead of Stefan Semeraro, Howse, Dustyn Mombourquette, Mike Weeda, Johnny Morrison, Herb Walters, Fedele DiBello and Ryan Semple.

Chris Allard won the third heat ahead of Archibald, Everingham, Davey, McFerran, Cutting, Holmes, Sikes, Franklin and Passer. The heat did not go smoothly, either, with Sikes spinning McFerran on Lap 1, and Franklin spinning Passer on Lap 5.

Howse won the fourth heat ahead of Semple, Semeraro, DiBello, Walters, Tiemersma, Morrison, Tyson and Mombourquette.

Come feature time, it’d be Coltin Everingham starting on pole ahead of Jay Cutting, Chris Allard, Dustyn Mombourquette, Frank Davey, Jade Franklin, Stefan Semeraro, Dan Archibald and Justin Holmes. Herb Walters started 11th, followed by Gerrit Tiemersma, Mike Weeda, Johnny Morrison, Jordan Howse, Ryan Semple, Brandon McFerran, Fedele DiBello, Robbie Sikes, and Miles Tyson.

Everingham grabbed the early lead ahead of Mombourquette and Allard, with Cutting alongside Davey for fourth. Davey got the spot on Lap 3, bringing Passer and Archibald through with him. Walters ran alongside Cutting for seventh at Lap 4 ahead of Tiemersma, with Semeraro and Howse side-by-side for  10th.

Walters was able to get the seventh spot before the caution flew on Lap 7 for Tyson going around in turn two. With 24 laps to go, Everingham led Mombourquette, Allard, Davey, Passer, Archibald, Walters, Cutting,  Tiemersma and Semeraro.  Weeda ran 11th, followed by Howse, McFerran, Semple, Franklin, Weeda, Morrison, Sikes, DiBello and Tyson.

Everingham got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Mombouquette and Allard, with Archibald moving up to fourth ahead of Davey before the second caution flew, this time for Semple and Holmes going around in turns one and two. With 22 laps to go, Everingham led Mombouquette, Allard, Archibald, Davey, Passer, Walters, Tiemersma, Howse and Cutting. McFerran ran 11th, followed by Semeraro, Weeda, Franklin, Morrison, Tyson, DiBello, Holmes and Semple.

The first attempt at a restart resulted in a mess in turns three and four. Down the backstretch, Archibald made contact with the back of Everingham. Then going into the corner, Everingham made contact with Mombourquette, resulting in Mombourquette going around for the spin. As a pure miracle, despite having at the very front of the field, there’d only be three others collected – Davey, Holmes and DiBello.

With the field re-racked for the second attempt at a restart, Allard led Archibald, Passer, Walters, Tiemersma, Cutting, Howse, Semeraro, McFerran and Franklin. Weeda ran 11th, followed by Morrison, Tyson, Holmes, Semple, Mombourquette, Everingham, DiBello and Davey.

Archibald would take the lead on the restart, with Allard and Walters side-by-side for second ahead of Tiemersma, Howse and Passer. McFerran would then pass Passer for sixth at Lap 11, with Walters clearing Allard a lap later for second. Allard now ran third ahead of Tiemersma, Howse, McFerran,  Semeraro, Weeda, Passer, Tyson, Semple and Morrison.

With 17 laps in the book, Archibald continued to lead ahead of Walters and Allard as Tiemersma and Howse ran side-by-side for fourth ahead of Semeraro, McFerran and Weeda. Weeda then got alongside McFerran for seventh at Lap 20, completing the pass a lap later. Behind them, Semple ran ninth ahead of Passer, as Everingham ran alongside Tyson for 11th.

Howse would clear Tiemersma for fourth on Lap 23, with Semeraro continuing to run sixth ahead of Weeda, McFerran, Semple, Passer and Everingham, with Franklin alongside Tyson for 12th. Franklin completed the pass on Lap 27, with Morrison getting alongside Tyson.

Further up the field, Archibald was long gone from the field, but the battle for second got interesting with two laps to go as Walters got alongside Allard, with Howse taking the pair of them three-wide off of turn four.

Dan Archibald picked up the win ahead of Jordan Howse, Chris Allard, Gerrit Tiemersma, and Herb Walters. Stefan Semeraro finished sixth, followed by Herb Walters, Mike Weeda, Brandon McFerran, and Ryan Semple. Brandon Passer finished 11th, followed by Coltin Everingham, Jade Franklin, Johnny Morrison, Miles Tyson, Dustyn Mombourquette, Fedele DiBello, Jay Cutting, Frank Davey and Justin Holmes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.