mini stocks

Cameron McGlashan Breaks Through for Victory at Sunset Speedway

After coming close throughout the season so far, Cameron McGlashan made his way to the front quickly, and held on to score the victory in the Signs of Innovation Mini Stock feature at Sunset Speedway.

Andy Kamrath won the first heat ahead of Doug Butler, Kyle Fetterly, Samantha Shaw, Josh Bullen, Joe Dunlop, Melissa Bullen, Amanda Shave, Peter Wakeling, and Ken Townsend.

The second heat did not go smoothly, as a three-wide battle on Lap 5 between Eric Yorke, Lisa DeLeeuw and Brandon Crumbie resulted in contact, with Crumbie making significant contact with the inside retaining wall. Charlie Smith picked up the win ahead of Mike Robinson Jr., Yorke, Randi Seguin, Nic Montanari, Chandler Bos, Robert Toope, and Curtis Stewart.

Cameron McGlashan won the third heat ahead of Daniel Montanari, Warren Paxton, Johnny Paradzinski, Dave Crumbie, Dylan Holmes, Bob Phinnemore, Doug Wilman and Eric Rainey.

Kamrath went for the daily double ahead of Nic Montanari, Butler, Dunlop, Shaw, Fetterly, Melissa Bullen, Josh Bullen, Shave, Wakeling and Townsend.

Smith went for the daily double ahead of Yorke, Robinson Jr., Woyslaw, Seguin, DeLeeuw, Toope and Stewart.

Daniel Montanari won the sixth heat ahead of Paxton, McGlashan, Dave Crumbie, Phinnemore, Wilman, Rainey and Doug Smith.

With over 30 cars on the property, a b-main was needed to decide who would make up the back-end of the 28-car field. Josh Bullen would start the b-main on pole ahead of Dylan Holmes, Melissa Bullen, Doug Wilman, Lisa DeLeeuw, Amanda Shave, Curtis Stewart, Eric Rainey, Peter Wakeling, Chandler Bos, Ken Townsend, and Doug Smith.

Josh Bullen took the early lead ahead of Holmes, Melissa Bullen, Wilman and DeLeeuw. Rainey moved up to sixth by Lap 2 ahead of Shave, Bos and Stewart. Wakeling then passed Stewart for ninth on Lap 4, with Townsend running 11th. DeLeeuw then got alongside Wilman for fourth at Lap 5, completing the pass a lap later. Wilman now ran fifth ahead of Rainey, Shave, Bos, Wakeling, Stewart, Townsend and Smith.

Rainey then looked to make his move, getting alongside Wilman for fifth at Lap 11, with Bos getting alongside Shave for seventh three laps later. Rainey got the fifth spot with three laps to go ahead of Wilman, while Bos and Shave continued to run side-by-side. The caution then flew with two laps to go, as Melissa Bullen went around in turn two.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Josh Bullen and Holmes, with Holmes clearing Bullen. Bullen gave it his shot to get back by, though got loose off the corner which was all Holmes needed. Dylan Holmes picked up the victory ahead of Josh Bullen, Lisa DeLeeuw, Eric Rainey, Doug Wilman, Chandler Bos, Amanda Shave, Melissa Bullen, Peter Wakeling, Curtis Stewart, Ken Townsend and Doug Smith.

With qualifying in the books, Johnny Paradzinski started pole ahead of Robert Toope, Joe Dunlop, Dave Crumbie, Samantha Shaw, Randi Seguin, Bob Phinnemore, Stefan Woyslaw, Kyle Fetterly, and Nic Montanari. Cameron McGlashan started 11th, followed by Doug Butler, Mike Robinson Jr., Charlie Smith, Daniel Montanari, Andy Kamrath, Warren Paxton, Eric Yorke, Justin Holmes, and Josh Bullen. Lisa DeLeeuw started 21st, followed by Eric Rainey, Chandler Bos, Amanda Shave, Melissa Bullen, Peter Wakeling, and Curtis Stewart.

The feature did not start off cleanly, though, as Woyslaw went around in turn one, virtue of Phinnemore.

The second attempt to start the feature went cleanly, with Paradzinski grabbing the early lead ahead of Toope as Shaw, Dunlop and Crumbie went three-wide for third. Shaw and Dunlop managed to clear Crumbie on Lap 2, with McGlashan and Kamrath running side-by-side for fifth. McGlashan began to make his move, jumping up to third on Lap 3, with Kamrath alongside Dunlop for fourth.

Kamrath took the fourth spot on Lap 5, with Smith, Yorke and Nic Montanari following him through before the caution waved on Lap 7 for Josh Bullen spinning in turn two. With 19 laps to go, Paradzinski led McGlashan, Kamrath, Smith, Yorke, Montanari, Toope, Shaw, Crumbie and Robinson Jr. Paxton ran 11th, followed by Butler, Daniel Montanari, Dunlop, Seguin, Fetterly, Holmes, DeLeeuw, Wilman and Melissa Bullen. Phinnemore ran 21st, followed by Woyslaw, Bos, Wakeling, Shave, Stewart, Rainey and Josh Bullen.

McGlashan got a good restart to take the lead, with Kamrath alongside Smith for second. Behind them, Yorke moved into fourth on Lap 9 ahead of Daniel Montanari and Paradzinski, with Paxton and Robinson Jr. side-by-side for seventh. Kamrath then cleared Smith for second on Lap 13 with Yorke continued to run fourth ahead of Nic Montanari, Paradzinski, Paxton and Daniel Montanari.

The battle to watch at Lap 15 was for ninth between Robinson Jr. and Butler. The pair remained side-by-side till the caution flew at Lap 17 for Toope going around in turn two. With nine laps to go, McGlashan led Kamrath, Smith, Yorke, Nic Montanari, Paradzinski, Daniel Montanari, Paxton, Robinson Jr., and Butler. Shaw ran 11th, followed by Crumbie, Fetterly, Dunlop, DeLeeuw, Woyslaw, Holmes, Melissa Bullen, Josh Bullen and Phinnemore. Wilman ran 21st, followed by Shave, Bos, Seguin, Toope, Wakeling, and Stewart.

McGlashan got a good restart to keep the lead with Kamrath and Smith resuming their battle for second. Smith got the spot on Lap 18 ahead of Kamrath, with Nic Montanari alongside Yorke for fourth. Montanari got the spot, getting alongside Kamrath for third with six laps to go. Montanari completed that pass, too, with his brother Daniel Montanari getting alongside Kamrath at Lap 21 ahead of Yorke, Paxton and Paradzinski.

Cameron McGlashan picked up the victory ahead of Nic Montanari, Daniel Montanari, Charlie Smith, Eric Yorke, Andy Kamrath, Warren Paxton, Johnny Paradzinski, Doug Butler, and Kyle Fetterly. Mike Robinson Jr. finished 11th, followed by Samantha Shaw, Stefan Woyslaw, Dave Crumbie, Joe Dunlop, Melissa Bullen, Lisa DeLeeuw, Josh Bullen, Justin Holmes and Bob Phinnemore. Randi Seguin finished 21st, followed by Doug Wilman, Amanda Shave, Eric Rainey, Robert Toope, Chandler Bos, Peter Wakeling and Curtis Stewart.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.