Flamboro Speedway

Hils and McFerran Split Pure Stock Features at Flamboro Speedway

The Pure Stocks at Flamboro Speedway were crazy as ever, going three-wide throughout the whole field, with victories going to Gilian Hils and Brandon McFerran.

Starting on the pole for the first feature, Hills led flag-to-flag en route to scoring the victory in her second night of competition this season. She was challenged throughout, with Doug Moir on her bumper over the course of the 20-lap event, but unable to find a way by.

Wayde Thorne kept up his strong start to the season, posting a third-place finish to go with three victories this season. Mark Thorne was fourth, continuing his streak of no finishes outside of the top-five. Brandon McFerran rounded out the top-five despite starting 15th on the grid.

Eric Crow finished sixth after running in the top-five for most of the race, followed by Andy Wheller, who also charged his way to the front after starting 16th. Last week’s feature winner Clinton Kerkhof was eighth, followed by Nick Sault and Ashton Reekie.

Keara Gallant finished 11th, followed by Matt Fraser, Paul Ditner, Peter Inglis, Zach Buchwald and Jeff Kennedy. Kennedy was the only driver to not finish the event.

While the first feature went caution-free, the same couldn’t said about the second event. It wasn’t due to a wreck, though, but rather due to a piece of debris on the frontstretch.

After starting up front, Clinton Kerkhof took the lead on Lap 10 and seemed destined to be headed for victory lane, holding off a hard charging Brandon McFerran for three laps. Unfortunately, though, Kerkhof was sent off track under the caution due to not having a one-way radio. With having worked his way from the back of the field, McFerran inherited the lead and snagged the win.

Andy Wheller put on another drive-through the field performance to finish second for his fifth top-five of 2017, followed by Doug Moir, Ross Winters Jr., and Mark Thorne. First feature winner Gilian Hills finished sixth, followed by Courtney Scott, Ashton Reekie, Nick Sault and Paul Ditner.

Matt Fraser finished 11th after leading the first nine laps and despite his bumper dragging through the later stages. Zach Buchwald finished 12th, followed by Peter Inglis, Jeff Kennedy, Wayde Thorne, Eric Crow and Clinton Kerkhof.  Notably, it was mechanical issues that took both Thorne and Crow out of the running, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.