Flamboro Speedway

Chris Milwain Scores Modified Feature Victory at Flamboro Speedway

Taking the lead on the start, Chris Milwain led flag-to-flag en route to scoring his first career OSCAAR Modified feature victory at Flamboro Speedway.

Chris Milwain started off the night in victory lane, winning the first heat ahead of AJ Emms, John Harper, Dale Reinhart, David Balych, Tim Tolton, Cory Horner and Dave Hodgkinson. Notably, Hodgkinson only ran a couple laps before pulling off with issues.

Luke Gignac won heat two ahead of Matt Barton, Gary Elliott, Aaron McLean, Wally Wilson, and Marshall Schrenk, Ryan Kenney and Jase Cornell. Notably, Cornell ran into mechanical issues before the heat started, forcing him off track. Meanwhile, the opening lap did not go as Kenney or Schrenk envisioned, as Kenney got loose and spun, leaving Schrenk nowhere to go. Both cars sustained damage, with Schrenk done for the afternoon.

John Harper won heat three ahead of Elliott, Gignac, Milwain, Reinhart, Tolton and Cornell. Notably, both Tolton and Cornell failed to finish with mechanical issues.
A.J. Emms won the final heat ahead of McLean, as Barton came back from a spin at Lap 3 to finish third. Horner finished fourth, followed by Balych, Kenney and Wilson.

The first attempt to start the feature did not go cleanly, with pole sitter McLean losing power, causing the field to stack and Elliott to cut down a tire. Elliott was able to head into the pits, change the tire, and make it back out before the second attempt at the start.

Starting on pole, Chris Milwain took the early lead and led flag-to-flag en route to scoring the victory, despite being heavily challenged by A.J. Emms through the middle portion. Horner made up considerable ground through the event, moving from eighth to third for the final podium spot. John Harper and Luke Gignac rounded out the top-five.

Gary Elliott rebounded to finish sixth, followed by Dale Reinhart, Matt Barton, Tim Tolton and David Balych. Ryan Kenney finished 11th despite spinning on Lap 19, followed by Wally Wilson, Aaron McLean and Dave Hodgkinson.

Notably, 17 cars signed into the race for the night, but Marty Monette failed to make a lap in competition due to blowing the motor in the first practice.

The OSCAAR Modifieds will be back in action this weekend at Kawartha Speedway on Friday, June 2. Details can be found at http://www.oscaar.ca. Be sure to print off the $5 General Admission coupon before heading out this weekend.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.